My Travel Choices
Hurghada destination landscape

Hurghada

Choose Hurghada for accessible Red Sea resorts, diving and mainland excursions with more town life than Sharm.

The verdict

Pick Hurghada over Sharm for town life and Luxor access; pick Sharm for concentrated reefs and resort polish.

Hurghada stretches along the coast; choose between central town access and self-contained southern resort compounds.

Strong for

  • • Giftun Islands boat day
  • • Red Sea diving day
  • • El Dahar and marina contrast
  • • Luxor excursion

Weaker for

  • • The coastal strip creates long taxi journeys.
  • • Excursion and shop selling can feel persistent.
  • • Summer land activity is severely heat-limited.

What Hurghada actually is

Environment
A long Red Sea tourism city of marinas, older town districts, sandy bays and resort developments.
Energy
Casual, package-friendly and water-focused, with more everyday street life than Sharm.
Purpose
Strong for affordable winter sun, families, diving, boat trips and Luxor extensions.
Reality
You gain value and regional access but give up compactness, polished consistency and dramatic Sinai scenery.

What are you here for?

A trip with a return date: the main sights, the food and one or two areas done properly.

How long?

6 days

Your exact figure is kept as entered — never rounded or grouped into a band.

Examples:

What that costs

Estimated total for 6 days

Budget

$300 – $563

Mid-range

$750 – $1,650

Premium

$2,250 – $5,250

Priced using the daily pattern.

Visitor estimates cover accommodation, food, local transport and everyday activity. International airfare is excluded. The first days cost more than the settled days: arrival, transfers and orientation are front-loaded.

These are planning estimates from reviewed research, not live prices or availability.

Excluded: international airfare, visas, insurance, shopping and one-off personal costs.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised examples from 2027-01-19 to 2027-01-25: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in October 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated planning example for two adults sharing one room, 19–25 January 2027: seven days and six nights, flights excluded. Hotel public room tables observed 2 October 2026; restaurant menu reviewed 2 October 2026. Not a booking quote, a checkout price or an annual default; reprice your own dates, party and room.

Hilton is breakfast-only, so lunches and dinners are priced from the El Halaka menu. Meraki and Sunny Days are all-inclusive: no meal cost is added for the five full days in between, and each total carries a separately shown OPTIONAL arrival/departure-day reserve with the subtotal without it. Seven full days of meals are never claimed, and meals eaten under the package are never charged twice. Transport, drinks and activities are MTC allowances, not quotes.

Budget · Example A

Total for two adults

1,235.03 USD

Dated illustration from a public room table (observed 2 October 2026), not a checkout quote. Listed hotel taxes are included once; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero.

88.22 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (public room table, listed taxes and charges included)

    1 × 853 USD (stay) = 853 USD ≈ 853.00 USD

    Source-backed: Hilton Hurghada Plaza, Twin Room, breakfast for two. Public room table total 853 USD, shown in whole dollars, listed taxes and charges included. Not a final checkout price.

    Hilton Hurghada Plaza — Booking.com dated public table — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfasts not covered by the hotel

    2 × 200 EGP (person-breakfast) = 400 EGP ≈ 7.69 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): 200 EGP per adult. The hotel's 12 included breakfasts are counted once; only two outside breakfasts are budgeted.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 364.8 EGP (person-lunch) = 5,107.2 EGP ≈ 98.24 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 478.8 EGP (person-dinner) = 6,703.2 EGP ≈ 128.94 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional drinks outside the hotel, per day for the two of you

    7 × 150 EGP (party-day) = 1,050 EGP ≈ 20.20 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; remove it if you buy nothing outside the hotel. Drinks included in the hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Hurghada airport (HRG) car, each way

    2 × 600 EGP (direction) = 1,200 EGP ≈ 23.08 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Car for two between HRG and an urban Hurghada hotel; not a supplier quote.

  • Local ride for the two of you

    12 × 200 EGP (ride) = 2,400 EGP ≈ 46.17 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Not a fare; outlying resorts such as Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh and El Gouna are excluded.

  • Optional activities per adult

    2 × 1,500 EGP (adult) = 3,000 EGP ≈ 57.71 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; not a ticket price. Diving, boat trips and distant excursions are excluded.

Hotel: Hilton Hurghada Plaza — Twin Room; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 15 January 2027; no prepayment, pay at the property.

Budget · Example B

Total for two adults

1,285.69 USD

Dated illustration from a public room table (observed 2 October 2026), not a checkout quote. Listed hotel taxes are included once; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero.

91.84 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (public room table, listed taxes and charges included)

    1 × 853 USD (stay) = 853 USD ≈ 853.00 USD

    Source-backed: Hilton Hurghada Plaza, Twin Room, breakfast for two. Public room table total 853 USD, shown in whole dollars, listed taxes and charges included. Not a final checkout price.

    Hilton Hurghada Plaza — Booking.com dated public table — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfasts not covered by the hotel

    2 × 200 EGP (person-breakfast) = 400 EGP ≈ 7.69 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): 200 EGP per adult. The hotel's 12 included breakfasts are counted once; only two outside breakfasts are budgeted.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 364.8 EGP (person-lunch) = 5,107.2 EGP ≈ 98.24 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 666.9 EGP (person-dinner) = 9,336.6 EGP ≈ 179.60 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional drinks outside the hotel, per day for the two of you

    7 × 150 EGP (party-day) = 1,050 EGP ≈ 20.20 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; remove it if you buy nothing outside the hotel. Drinks included in the hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Hurghada airport (HRG) car, each way

    2 × 600 EGP (direction) = 1,200 EGP ≈ 23.08 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Car for two between HRG and an urban Hurghada hotel; not a supplier quote.

  • Local ride for the two of you

    12 × 200 EGP (ride) = 2,400 EGP ≈ 46.17 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Not a fare; outlying resorts such as Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh and El Gouna are excluded.

  • Optional activities per adult

    2 × 1,500 EGP (adult) = 3,000 EGP ≈ 57.71 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; not a ticket price. Diving, boat trips and distant excursions are excluded.

Hotel: Hilton Hurghada Plaza — Twin Room; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 15 January 2027; no prepayment, pay at the property.

Mid-range · Example A

Total for two adults

1,220.87 USD

Includes an OPTIONAL arrival/departure-day food reserve of 80.30 USD. Without it: 1,140.57 USD. The reserve is not a hotel fee and does not mean the package excludes those meals; remove it if they are covered or not needed. Dated illustration from a public room table (observed 2 October 2026), not a checkout quote. Listed hotel taxes are included once; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero.

87.21 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (public room table, listed taxes and charges included)

    1 × 993.41 USD (stay) = 993.41 USD ≈ 993.41 USD

    Source-backed: Meraki Resort – Adults Only, Double Trouble Room (king bed), all-inclusive for two. Public room table total 993.41 USD (cents kept as shown), listed taxes and charges included; the displayed 6% online discount is already inside this price and not guaranteed. Not a final checkout price.

    Meraki Resort – Adults Only — Booking.com dated public table — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day breakfast reserve

    4 × 200 EGP (person-breakfast) = 800 EGP ≈ 15.39 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): 200 EGP per adult, part of the optional reserve. OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

  • Optional arrival/departure-day lunch reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 364.8 EGP (person-lunch) = 1,459.2 EGP ≈ 28.07 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day dinner reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 478.8 EGP (person-dinner) = 1,915.2 EGP ≈ 36.84 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional drinks outside the hotel, per day for the two of you

    7 × 150 EGP (party-day) = 1,050 EGP ≈ 20.20 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; remove it if you buy nothing outside the hotel. Drinks included in the hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Hurghada airport (HRG) car, each way

    2 × 600 EGP (direction) = 1,200 EGP ≈ 23.08 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Car for two between HRG and an urban Hurghada hotel; not a supplier quote.

  • Local ride for the two of you

    12 × 200 EGP (ride) = 2,400 EGP ≈ 46.17 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Not a fare; outlying resorts such as Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh and El Gouna are excluded.

  • Optional activities per adult

    2 × 1,500 EGP (adult) = 3,000 EGP ≈ 57.71 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; not a ticket price. Diving, boat trips and distant excursions are excluded.

Hotel: Meraki Resort – Adults Only — Double Trouble Room, king bed; all-inclusive for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; pay nothing until 14 January 2027. Guests must be 16 or older: an energetic party resort, not a quiet or family choice. Winter restaurant hours (Munchery): breakfast 07:30–10:30, lunch 13:00–15:00, dinner 18:30–22:00; a late-hours entry on the hotel page is unclear and not relied on. Direct-booking perks are not assumed for this online travel agency offer.

Mid-range · Example B

Total for two adults

1,235.34 USD

Includes an OPTIONAL arrival/departure-day food reserve of 94.77 USD. Without it: 1,140.57 USD. The reserve is not a hotel fee and does not mean the package excludes those meals; remove it if they are covered or not needed. Dated illustration from a public room table (observed 2 October 2026), not a checkout quote. Listed hotel taxes are included once; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero.

88.24 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (public room table, listed taxes and charges included)

    1 × 993.41 USD (stay) = 993.41 USD ≈ 993.41 USD

    Source-backed: Meraki Resort – Adults Only, Double Trouble Room (king bed), all-inclusive for two. Public room table total 993.41 USD (cents kept as shown), listed taxes and charges included; the displayed 6% online discount is already inside this price and not guaranteed. Not a final checkout price.

    Meraki Resort – Adults Only — Booking.com dated public table — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day breakfast reserve

    4 × 200 EGP (person-breakfast) = 800 EGP ≈ 15.39 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): 200 EGP per adult, part of the optional reserve. OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

  • Optional arrival/departure-day lunch reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 364.8 EGP (person-lunch) = 1,459.2 EGP ≈ 28.07 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day dinner reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 666.9 EGP (person-dinner) = 2,667.6 EGP ≈ 51.31 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional drinks outside the hotel, per day for the two of you

    7 × 150 EGP (party-day) = 1,050 EGP ≈ 20.20 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; remove it if you buy nothing outside the hotel. Drinks included in the hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Hurghada airport (HRG) car, each way

    2 × 600 EGP (direction) = 1,200 EGP ≈ 23.08 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Car for two between HRG and an urban Hurghada hotel; not a supplier quote.

  • Local ride for the two of you

    12 × 200 EGP (ride) = 2,400 EGP ≈ 46.17 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Not a fare; outlying resorts such as Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh and El Gouna are excluded.

  • Optional activities per adult

    2 × 1,500 EGP (adult) = 3,000 EGP ≈ 57.71 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; not a ticket price. Diving, boat trips and distant excursions are excluded.

Hotel: Meraki Resort – Adults Only — Double Trouble Room, king bed; all-inclusive for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; pay nothing until 14 January 2027. Guests must be 16 or older: an energetic party resort, not a quiet or family choice. Winter restaurant hours (Munchery): breakfast 07:30–10:30, lunch 13:00–15:00, dinner 18:30–22:00; a late-hours entry on the hotel page is unclear and not relied on. Direct-booking perks are not assumed for this online travel agency offer.

Premium · Example A

Total for two adults

1,268.81 USD

Includes an OPTIONAL arrival/departure-day food reserve of 80.30 USD. Without it: 1,188.51 USD. The reserve is not a hotel fee and does not mean the package excludes those meals; remove it if they are covered or not needed. Dated illustration from a public room table (observed 2 October 2026), not a checkout quote. Listed hotel taxes are included once; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero.

90.63 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (public room table, listed taxes and charges included)

    1 × 1,041.35 USD (stay) = 1,041.35 USD ≈ 1,041.35 USD

    Source-backed: Sunny Days El Palacio, Deluxe Double or Twin Room (two single beds, pool view), all-inclusive for two. Public room table total 1,041.35 USD (cents kept as shown), listed taxes and charges included; the displayed 45% saving is already inside this price. Not a final checkout price.

    Sunny Days El Palacio — Booking.com dated public table — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day breakfast reserve

    4 × 200 EGP (person-breakfast) = 800 EGP ≈ 15.39 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): 200 EGP per adult, part of the optional reserve. OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

  • Optional arrival/departure-day lunch reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 364.8 EGP (person-lunch) = 1,459.2 EGP ≈ 28.07 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day dinner reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 478.8 EGP (person-dinner) = 1,915.2 EGP ≈ 36.84 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional drinks outside the hotel, per day for the two of you

    7 × 150 EGP (party-day) = 1,050 EGP ≈ 20.20 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; remove it if you buy nothing outside the hotel. Drinks included in the hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Hurghada airport (HRG) car, each way

    2 × 600 EGP (direction) = 1,200 EGP ≈ 23.08 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Car for two between HRG and an urban Hurghada hotel; not a supplier quote.

  • Local ride for the two of you

    12 × 200 EGP (ride) = 2,400 EGP ≈ 46.17 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Not a fare; outlying resorts such as Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh and El Gouna are excluded.

  • Optional activities per adult

    2 × 1,500 EGP (adult) = 3,000 EGP ≈ 57.71 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; not a ticket price. Diving, boat trips and distant excursions are excluded.

Hotel: Sunny Days El Palacio Resort & Spa — Deluxe Double or Twin Room, two single beds, pool view; all-inclusive for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 17 January 2027; pay nothing until 15 January 2027. All-inclusive buffet hours: breakfast 07:00–10:00, lunch 12:30–15:00, dinner 19:00–22:00. The two free à-la-carte dinners need a stay of seven nights or more, so this six-night example does not get them. The all-inclusive lobby bar runs 10:00–midnight; other hours and imported premium drinks may cost extra.

Premium · Example B

Total for two adults

1,283.28 USD

Includes an OPTIONAL arrival/departure-day food reserve of 94.77 USD. Without it: 1,188.51 USD. The reserve is not a hotel fee and does not mean the package excludes those meals; remove it if they are covered or not needed. Dated illustration from a public room table (observed 2 October 2026), not a checkout quote. Listed hotel taxes are included once; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero.

91.66 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (public room table, listed taxes and charges included)

    1 × 1,041.35 USD (stay) = 1,041.35 USD ≈ 1,041.35 USD

    Source-backed: Sunny Days El Palacio, Deluxe Double or Twin Room (two single beds, pool view), all-inclusive for two. Public room table total 1,041.35 USD (cents kept as shown), listed taxes and charges included; the displayed 45% saving is already inside this price. Not a final checkout price.

    Sunny Days El Palacio — Booking.com dated public table — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day breakfast reserve

    4 × 200 EGP (person-breakfast) = 800 EGP ≈ 15.39 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): 200 EGP per adult, part of the optional reserve. OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

  • Optional arrival/departure-day lunch reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 364.8 EGP (person-lunch) = 1,459.2 EGP ≈ 28.07 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional arrival/departure-day dinner reserve (menu benchmark)

    4 × 666.9 EGP (person-dinner) = 2,667.6 EGP ≈ 51.31 USD

    Source-backed: El Halaka seafood restaurant menu (reviewed 2 October 2026; publication date not stated, January prices not guaranteed). Lunch: salmon fettuccine 320 EGP + 14% listed tax = 364.80 EGP per adult. Dinner A: seafood meal 420 + 14% = 478.80 EGP. Dinner B: VIP seafood meal 585 + 14% = 666.90 EGP. These are composed seafood meals, not a verified starter, main and dessert; no dessert is assumed. Unlisted service or cover charges are unknown, not zero. Repeating the meal is a budget benchmark, not a plan to eat there every day. Part of the optional reserve: OPTIONAL reserve for arrival and departure days: at most four breakfasts, four lunches and four dinners for the two of you across both days. It is not a hotel fee and not evidence that the all-inclusive plan excludes those meals; it is money you may not spend. Remove it if the package covers those meals or your flight times avoid them. The five full days in between carry no extra meal cost.

    El Halaka seafood restaurant, Hurghada — menu — checked 2026-10-02

  • Optional drinks outside the hotel, per day for the two of you

    7 × 150 EGP (party-day) = 1,050 EGP ≈ 20.20 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; remove it if you buy nothing outside the hotel. Drinks included in the hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Hurghada airport (HRG) car, each way

    2 × 600 EGP (direction) = 1,200 EGP ≈ 23.08 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Car for two between HRG and an urban Hurghada hotel; not a supplier quote.

  • Local ride for the two of you

    12 × 200 EGP (ride) = 2,400 EGP ≈ 46.17 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Not a fare; outlying resorts such as Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh and El Gouna are excluded.

  • Optional activities per adult

    2 × 1,500 EGP (adult) = 3,000 EGP ≈ 57.71 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Optional; not a ticket price. Diving, boat trips and distant excursions are excluded.

Hotel: Sunny Days El Palacio Resort & Spa — Deluxe Double or Twin Room, two single beds, pool view; all-inclusive for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 17 January 2027; pay nothing until 15 January 2027. All-inclusive buffet hours: breakfast 07:00–10:00, lunch 12:30–15:00, dinner 19:00–22:00. The two free à-la-carte dinners need a stay of seven nights or more, so this six-night example does not get them. The all-inclusive lobby bar runs 10:00–midnight; other hours and imported premium drinks may cost extra.

Not included: Flights, Visas and insurance, Diving and boat trips, Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh, El Gouna

Reference exchange rates dated 2026-09-30: 1 USD = 51.9854 EGP. Your card rate at payment may differ.

Rate source as recorded in the research: Central Bank of Egypt buy/sell midpoint for 30 Sep 2026: 51.9854 EGP per USD. A dated reference, not a card rate or today's rate. Hotel prices were shown in USD.

Practical notes

Use HRG for arrival. Compare board basis before comparing prices: a room-only offer and an all-inclusive stay cannot share the same added food budget. Meraki Hurghada is for guests aged 16 and over, so it is not a choice for a family travelling with younger children. Confirm the exact meal plan, drinks and beach access in the room offer.

Limits of these examples

Covers the urban Hurghada coast only. Makadi Bay, Sahl Hasheesh, El Gouna, Luxor excursions and offshore diving or boat packages are excluded. Sea and boat conditions need a current check.

Read the full cost guide: what each basket includes and what changes between A and B

Cost sources (8)

Who it suits

  • • Solo travellers
  • • Couples
  • • Groups of friends
  • • Families with children — workable with planning

Who it may not suit

  • • short stays — The coastal strip creates long taxi journeys.
  • • low-contact travelers — Excursion and shop selling can feel persistent.
  • • heat-sensitive — Summer land activity is severely heat-limited.

Why travellers come

  • • Combines snorkelling, open water and island beaches.
  • • Uses the destination’s strongest marine advantage across varied sites.
  • • Shows both everyday town life and the newer visitor waterfront.
  • • Adds major Nile heritage, though the day is long and demanding.

Timing and seasonality

October-April offers the best land comfort; summer is intensely hot but sea activities remain popular.

How Hurghada repeats itself

  • • Keep one flexible neighbourhood walk or meal window each day so weather, traffic and energy do not break the itinerary.
  • • Use one low-pressure day and one longer cultural or nature anchor; Giftun Islands boat day is a useful first reference point.
  • • Reprice accommodation and transport, check current local conditions, and reserve a low-logistics reset weekend.

What changes when you stay longer

One month or longer
Indicative accommodation, local transport, meals and ordinary activities; excludes international airfare, visas, insurance and refundable deposits.
One year or longer
Indicative accommodation, local transport, meals and ordinary activities; excludes international airfare, visas, insurance and refundable deposits.

Getting around

Use hotel transfers, authorized taxis or arranged drivers; distances between El Dahar, marina and southern resorts are substantial.

Where to stay

Sakkala / Marina

Central restaurants, marina walks and boat departures.

Use walking and public transport for nearby trips; plan transfers for outer districts.

Convenience, noise and value vary by exact street and peak demand.

El Dahar

Older town life, markets and better local value.

Use walking and public transport for nearby trips; plan transfers for outer districts.

Convenience, noise and value vary by exact street and peak demand.

Makadi Bay

Self-contained southern resorts and sandy beaches away from town.

Use walking and public transport for nearby trips; plan transfers for outer districts.

Convenience, noise and value vary by exact street and peak demand.

Honest trade-offs

  • • Convenience, noise and value vary by exact street and peak demand.
  • • Convenience, noise and value vary by exact street and peak demand.
  • • Convenience, noise and value vary by exact street and peak demand.
  • • The coastal strip creates long taxi journeys.
  • • Excursion and shop selling can feel persistent.
  • • Summer land activity is severely heat-limited.

Alternatives worth considering

In the same country

  • Sharm El Sheikh — Choose Sharm for concentrated reefs and Sinai resort scenery.
  • Luxor — Choose Luxor for archaeology and Nile history rather than beaches.

International

  • Koh Samui — Choose Koh Samui for tropical greenery and a broader island dining scene.

Similar places in Egypt

Explore more places in Egypt

Looking beyond Egypt?

These are outside Egypt. Each one is labelled with its own country; those without a page are shown as previews only.

  • Bali — Indonesia · IslandPreview onlyIsland living with a bigger long-stay community — page not built yet.

Sources and freshness

Planning guidance checked 30 August 2026; verify prices, schedules, entry rules and local conditions before booking.

  • Experience Egypt — Hurghada — 2026-08-30
  • Experience Egypt — 2026-08-30
  • Numbeo Hurghada — 2026-08-30

Daily ground budget

What one day on the ground costs here, per traveller, with international airfare excluded.