Dated cost examples
Six dated, itemised examples from 2026-11-10 to 2026-11-16: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in September 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.
Dated planning estimate for two adults sharing one room, seven days/six nights, 10–16 November 2026. Flights excluded. Hotel board, taxes and availability require confirmation. Planning allowances are not supplier quotes.
Arrival is at MBA (Mombasa) with a whole-car transfer. Tombo House is not claimed to be beachfront. Room board terms are unknown: if meals turn out to be included, remove the matching meal lines. No safari is included.
Budget · Example A
Total for two adults
1,014.70 USD
72.48 USD per person per ground day
Link to this exampleShow itemised lines
Accommodation base
6 × 79.19 USD (room-night) = 475.14 USD ≈ 475.14 USD
Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.
Reported hotel taxes estimate
6 × 14.26 USD (room-night) = 85.56 USD ≈ 85.56 USD
Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.
Mombasa airport car transfers
2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD
The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.
Local car allowance
4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD
Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.
Beach walks
2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD
No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.
External breakfast
14 × 4 USD (person-meal) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External lunch
14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External dinner
14 × 10 USD (person-meal) = 140 USD ≈ 140.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks
14 × 3 USD (person-day) = 42 USD ≈ 42.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Tombo House. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.
Budget · Example B
Total for two adults
1,280.70 USD
91.48 USD per person per ground day
Link to this exampleShow itemised lines
Accommodation base
6 × 79.19 USD (room-night) = 475.14 USD ≈ 475.14 USD
Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.
Reported hotel taxes estimate
6 × 14.26 USD (room-night) = 85.56 USD ≈ 85.56 USD
Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.
Mombasa airport car transfers
2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD
The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.
Local car allowance
4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD
Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.
Beach walks
2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD
No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.
External breakfast
14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External lunch
14 × 12 USD (person-meal) = 168 USD ≈ 168.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External dinner
14 × 20 USD (person-meal) = 280 USD ≈ 280.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks
14 × 4 USD (person-day) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Tombo House. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.
Mid-range · Example A
Total for two adults
1,264.06 USD
90.29 USD per person per ground day
Link to this exampleShow itemised lines
Accommodation base
6 × 114.41 USD (room-night) = 686.46 USD ≈ 686.46 USD
Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.
Reported hotel taxes estimate
6 × 20.6 USD (room-night) = 123.6 USD ≈ 123.60 USD
Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.
Mombasa airport car transfers
2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD
The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.
Local car allowance
4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD
Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.
Beach walks
2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD
No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.
External breakfast
14 × 4 USD (person-meal) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External lunch
14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External dinner
14 × 10 USD (person-meal) = 140 USD ≈ 140.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks
14 × 3 USD (person-day) = 42 USD ≈ 42.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Safari Beach Hotel. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.
Mid-range · Example B
Total for two adults
1,530.06 USD
109.29 USD per person per ground day
Link to this exampleShow itemised lines
Accommodation base
6 × 114.41 USD (room-night) = 686.46 USD ≈ 686.46 USD
Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.
Reported hotel taxes estimate
6 × 20.6 USD (room-night) = 123.6 USD ≈ 123.60 USD
Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.
Mombasa airport car transfers
2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD
The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.
Local car allowance
4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD
Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.
Beach walks
2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD
No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.
External breakfast
14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External lunch
14 × 12 USD (person-meal) = 168 USD ≈ 168.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External dinner
14 × 20 USD (person-meal) = 280 USD ≈ 280.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks
14 × 4 USD (person-day) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Safari Beach Hotel. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.
Premium · Example A
Total for two adults
2,620.00 USD
187.14 USD per person per ground day
Link to this exampleShow itemised lines
Accommodation base
6 × 305.93 USD (room-night) = 1,835.58 USD ≈ 1,835.58 USD
Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.
Reported hotel taxes estimate
6 × 55.07 USD (room-night) = 330.42 USD ≈ 330.42 USD
Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.
Mombasa airport car transfers
2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD
The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.
Local car allowance
4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD
Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.
Beach walks
2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD
No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.
External breakfast
14 × 4 USD (person-meal) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External lunch
14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External dinner
14 × 10 USD (person-meal) = 140 USD ≈ 140.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks
14 × 3 USD (person-day) = 42 USD ≈ 42.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Swahili Beach. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.
Premium · Example B
Total for two adults
2,886.00 USD
206.14 USD per person per ground day
Link to this exampleShow itemised lines
Accommodation base
6 × 305.93 USD (room-night) = 1,835.58 USD ≈ 1,835.58 USD
Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.
Reported hotel taxes estimate
6 × 55.07 USD (room-night) = 330.42 USD ≈ 330.42 USD
Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.
Mombasa airport car transfers
2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD
The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.
Local car allowance
4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD
Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.
Beach walks
2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD
No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.
External breakfast
14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External lunch
14 × 12 USD (person-meal) = 168 USD ≈ 168.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
External dinner
14 × 20 USD (person-meal) = 280 USD ≈ 280.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks
14 × 4 USD (person-day) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD
Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.
Swahili Beach. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.
Not included: Intercity overnight travel, International and domestic airfare, Automatic contingency buffer (none applied), All flights, Visas/eVisas/entry fees, Travel/medical insurance, Personal shopping, Alcohol, Unselected excursions, Refundable deposits/credit-card holds, Thermal clothing purchase or rental unless expressly included
Practical notes
Moi International Airport in Mombasa (MBA) is the modeled arrival point. A local transfer operator publishes KES 5000 per economy car to Diani; the model uses its displayed approximate USD 39 per vehicle, each way. This is not a per-person fare. Allow route and traffic flexibility, and confirm the final hotel location and any child seats before travel.
Limits of these examples
November–December can bring short rains. Tides and sea conditions affect swimming and boat activities; a beach photograph does not establish year-round safe swimming. Safari fees, domestic flights, visas, insurance and optional marine excursions are excluded. Room-board information remains rate-specific and requires checking to avoid paying twice for included meals.
Read the full cost guide: what each basket includes and what changes between A and B
Estimate the whole country with the trip cost calculator (different, annual country model)
Cost sources (6)
- MTC planning assumption — checked 2026-09-30
- tripadvisor.com — checked 2026-09-30
- tripadvisor.com — checked 2026-09-30
- tripadvisor.com — checked 2026-09-30
- dianielitetaxi.co.ke — checked 2026-09-30
- budgetyourtrip.com — checked 2026-09-30