My Travel Choices
Fukuoka: a riverside cityscape at dusk with illuminated buildings, a bridge and food stalls reflected in the water

Fukuoka

Choose Fukuoka for a compact, food-first Japanese city with exceptional airport access and easy Kyushu connections; skip it if your priority is iconic temples, megacity scale or a full beach resort.

The verdict

A compact Kyushu gateway that combines historic Hakata, central parks, waterfront districts and one of Japan’s strongest casual-food scenes. Its airport-to-centre connection and manageable scale make it unusually easy for a first or final stop in Japan.

Best for food-led city breaks, first-time Japan visitors who want lower friction, repeat visitors adding Kyushu, solo travelers, couples and travelers using rail for regional day trips.

Strong for

  • • Very fast airport access; Hakata food culture and yatai stalls; lively Tenjin and Daimyo; Ohori Park and castle remains; a coastal edge; and efficient connections across Kyushu and onward by Shinkansen.
  • • Nature — Medium — strong for parks, bay views and easy coastal excursions, but major wilderness experiences require travel beyond the centre.
  • • Beaches — Low to medium — useful for a summer urban-beach day or Itoshima outing, not for a primary tropical-beach holiday.
  • • Culture — High — Hakata’s merchant history, shrines, festivals, castle remains and museums give the city depth beyond its modern centre.
  • • Food — Very high — tonkotsu ramen, seafood, mentaiko and yatai culture are central reasons to choose Fukuoka.
  • • Nightlife — High in Tenjin, Daimyo and Nakasu, with bars, izakaya, live venues and clubs; quieter elsewhere.
  • • Meeting people — Medium to high — yatai counters, hostels and compact nightlife make casual interaction easier than in many larger Japanese cities, though language can still limit depth.
  • • Wellness — Medium — parks, waterfront walks, public baths and regional onsen day trips support recovery, but wellness is not the city’s dominant identity.

Weaker for

  • • It has fewer headline sights than Tokyo or Kyoto; nightlife is concentrated rather than citywide; summer can be hot, humid and wet; and local beaches are seasonal urban escapes, not a substitute for a dedicated island resort.

What Fukuoka actually is

Environment
A compact Kyushu gateway that combines historic Hakata, central parks, waterfront districts and one of Japan’s strongest casual-food scenes. Its airport-to-centre connection and manageable scale make it unusually easy for a first or final stop in Japan.
Energy
Food and markets; urban culture and temples; parks and waterfront; nightlife; shopping and cafés; baseball/events; Kyushu day trips; seasonal beach and cycling outings.
Purpose
Best for food-led city breaks, first-time Japan visitors who want lower friction, repeat visitors adding Kyushu, solo travelers, couples and travelers using rail for regional day trips.
Reality
It has fewer headline sights than Tokyo or Kyoto; nightlife is concentrated rather than citywide; summer can be hot, humid and wet; and local beaches are seasonal urban escapes, not a substitute for a dedicated island resort.

What are you here for?

A trip with a return date: the main sights, the food and one or two areas done properly.

How long?

3 days

Your exact figure is kept as entered — never rounded or grouped into a band.

Examples:

What that costs

Estimated total for 3 days

Budget

$198 – $396

Mid-range

$450 – $840

Premium

$975 – $1,830

Priced using the daily pattern.

Visitor estimates cover accommodation, food, local transport and everyday activity. International airfare is excluded. The first days cost more than the settled days: arrival, transfers and orientation are front-loaded.

These are planning estimates from reviewed research, not live prices or availability.

Excluded: international airfare, visas, insurance, shopping and one-off personal costs.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised examples from 2027-01-19 to 2027-01-25: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in October 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated planning illustration for two adults sharing one room, 19–25 January 2027: seven days and six nights, flights excluded. Hotel prices are public room-table observations from 2 October 2026, not checkout-reconciled quotes. Breakfast allowances, transport, drinks and activities are MTC gross estimates, not supplier quotes or free attractions. Not bookable, not a quote and not an annual or calculator default.

All three are room only (14 breakfasts budgeted). Each reserve combines 10% hotel VAT and a conditional accommodation-tax reserve. Every total shows the provisional tax reserve and the subtotal before it. Each example is headed by its hotel's name; the listing order follows room price, not quality.

APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae · Example A

Total for two adults

1,197.71 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 62.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,134.82 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A compact room with one 140 cm double bed — not a twin. Whether the room price already includes the accommodation tax is unconfirmed, so the city-tax reserve may overlap. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

85.55 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 477 USD (stay) = 477 USD ≈ 477.00 USD

    Source-backed: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. 477.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — checked 2026-10-02

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 47.7 USD (stay) = 47.7 USD ≈ 47.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — checked 2026-10-02

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Fukuoka City accommodation-tax notice — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (lunch) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,958 JPY (person-dinner) = 27,412 JPY ≈ 173.51 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (dinner) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae · Example B

Total for two adults

1,291.29 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 62.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,228.40 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A compact room with one 140 cm double bed — not a twin. Whether the room price already includes the accommodation tax is unconfirmed, so the city-tax reserve may overlap. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

92.24 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 477 USD (stay) = 477 USD ≈ 477.00 USD

    Source-backed: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. 477.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — checked 2026-10-02

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 47.7 USD (stay) = 47.7 USD ≈ 47.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — checked 2026-10-02

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Fukuoka City accommodation-tax notice — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (lunch) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 3,014 JPY (person-dinner) = 42,196 JPY ≈ 267.09 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (dinner) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin · Example A

Total for two adults

1,296.71 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 71.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,224.82 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Tenjin base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

92.62 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 567 USD (stay) = 567 USD ≈ 567.00 USD

    Source-backed: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. 567.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — checked 2026-10-02

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 56.7 USD (stay) = 56.7 USD ≈ 56.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — checked 2026-10-02

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Fukuoka City accommodation-tax notice — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (lunch) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,958 JPY (person-dinner) = 27,412 JPY ≈ 173.51 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (dinner) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin · Example B

Total for two adults

1,390.29 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 71.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,318.40 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Tenjin base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

99.31 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 567 USD (stay) = 567 USD ≈ 567.00 USD

    Source-backed: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. 567.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — checked 2026-10-02

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 56.7 USD (stay) = 56.7 USD ≈ 56.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — checked 2026-10-02

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Fukuoka City accommodation-tax notice — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (lunch) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 3,014 JPY (person-dinner) = 42,196 JPY ≈ 267.09 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (dinner) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier · Example A

Total for two adults

1,856.61 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 122.79 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,733.82 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Hakata base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

132.62 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 1,076 USD (stay) = 1,076 USD ≈ 1,076.00 USD

    Source-backed: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. 1,076.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — checked 2026-10-02

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 107.6 USD (stay) = 107.6 USD ≈ 107.60 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — checked 2026-10-02

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Fukuoka City accommodation-tax notice — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (lunch) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,958 JPY (person-dinner) = 27,412 JPY ≈ 173.51 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (dinner) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; nothing to pay until 14 January 2027.

THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier · Example B

Total for two adults

1,950.19 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 122.79 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,827.40 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Hakata base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

139.30 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 1,076 USD (stay) = 1,076 USD ≈ 1,076.00 USD

    Source-backed: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. 1,076.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — checked 2026-10-02

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 107.6 USD (stay) = 107.6 USD ≈ 107.60 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Public room table (Booking.com), observed 2 Oct 2026: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — checked 2026-10-02

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

    Fukuoka City accommodation-tax notice — checked 2026-10-02

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (lunch) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 3,014 JPY (person-dinner) = 42,196 JPY ≈ 267.09 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

    Royal Host official menu (dinner) — checked 2026-10-02

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; nothing to pay until 14 January 2027.

Not included: Flights, Visas and insurance, Shopping, voluntary tips and regional trips, Refundable deposits and card holds

Reference exchange rates dated 2026-10-01: 1 USD = 157.984 JPY. Your card rate at payment may differ.

Rate source as recorded in the research: ECB reference, 1 October 2026: EUR 1 = USD 1.1298 = JPY 178.49; full cross ratio. Hotel prices were shown in USD. Not a card or retail rate

Practical notes

The subway serves the airport's domestic side; international arrivals must account for terminal transfer time. Check the room's bed arrangement and local accommodation tax. Do not assume a capsule listing is a private double room or that breakfast is included.

Limits of these examples

Covers Fukuoka city — Hakata and Tenjin. Kitakyushu, regional Kyushu and intercity rail are excluded. Prices are dated snapshots for 19–25 January 2027, not year-round ranges or calculator defaults; exact checkout totals were not verified.

Read the full cost guide: what each basket includes and what changes between A and B

Cost sources (11)

Overview

A compact Kyushu gateway that combines historic Hakata, central parks, waterfront districts and one of Japan’s strongest casual-food scenes. Its airport-to-centre connection and manageable scale make it unusually easy for a first or final stop in Japan.

Ideal travelers

Best for food-led city breaks, first-time Japan visitors who want lower friction, repeat visitors adding Kyushu, solo travelers, couples and travelers using rail for regional day trips.

Reasons to go

  • Very fast airport access; Hakata food culture and yatai stalls; lively Tenjin and Daimyo; Ohori Park and castle remains; a coastal edge; and efficient connections across Kyushu and onward by Shinkansen.

Limitations and watch-outs

  • It has fewer headline sights than Tokyo or Kyoto; nightlife is concentrated rather than citywide; summer can be hot, humid and wet; and local beaches are seasonal urban escapes, not a substitute for a dedicated island resort.

Recommended stay

3–5 nights for the city; 5–7 nights if using Fukuoka as a base for Dazaifu, Itoshima, Yanagawa or wider northern Kyushu.

Seasons

April–May and October–November usually offer the best balance of mild weather and walkability. March can work for spring atmosphere, while bloom timing varies annually. June–July bring the main rainy-season risk; July–August are hot and humid; late summer into early autumn can face typhoon disruption. Golden Week and major festival dates can tighten availability.

Arrival and local transport

Fukuoka Airport is the primary gateway. The domestic terminal connects directly to the city subway; the airport is about six minutes from Hakata Station by subway. International-terminal passengers use the inter-terminal shuttle before joining the subway network.

The subway covers the airport, Hakata, Nakasu, Tenjin and western districts; JR and Nishitetsu trains extend regional reach. Walking works well within each central district, while buses fill gaps. Official route data should be checked for late-night travel.

Areas and bases

Hakata for transport and practical first stays; Tenjin/Daimyo for dining, cafés and nightlife; Nakasu-Kawabata for riverfront evenings and yatai access; Ohori/Akasaka for calmer park-side stays; Momochi for waterfront space but less late-night convenience.

Experiences

Food and markets; urban culture and temples; parks and waterfront; nightlife; shopping and cafés; baseball/events; Kyushu day trips; seasonal beach and cycling outings.

What it is strong for

Nature — Medium — strong for parks, bay views and easy coastal excursions, but major wilderness experiences require travel beyond the centre.

Beaches — Low to medium — useful for a summer urban-beach day or Itoshima outing, not for a primary tropical-beach holiday.

Culture — High — Hakata’s merchant history, shrines, festivals, castle remains and museums give the city depth beyond its modern centre.

Food — Very high — tonkotsu ramen, seafood, mentaiko and yatai culture are central reasons to choose Fukuoka.

Nightlife — High in Tenjin, Daimyo and Nakasu, with bars, izakaya, live venues and clubs; quieter elsewhere.

Meeting people — Medium to high — yatai counters, hostels and compact nightlife make casual interaction easier than in many larger Japanese cities, though language can still limit depth.

Wellness — Medium — parks, waterfront walks, public baths and regional onsen day trips support recovery, but wellness is not the city’s dominant identity.

Traveler suitability

Solo — High — compact, transit-friendly and easy to dine alone; normal urban awareness still applies after dark.

Couple — High — food, waterfront evenings, parks and coastal day trips create varied low-friction days.

Family — High — convenient transport and family attractions work well, though small rooms and late-night entertainment streets require planning.

Accessibility

Major stations and the airport provide step-free facilities, but older shops, yatai and small restaurants may be tight or stepped. Confirm elevator exits, room dimensions and accessible toilets for each itinerary.

Risks, scams and etiquette

Main practical risks are entertainment-district touts or bill disputes, misplaced belongings, heat, heavy rain and transport disruption rather than organized tourist scams. Avoid following unsolicited touts and verify menu prices.

Keep voices low on transit, queue carefully, do not tip by default, follow shrine rules, and ask before photographing food-stall staff or other guests. Some baths restrict visible tattoos.

Remote-work practicality

High — urban mobile coverage, hotel Wi‑Fi, cafés and station facilities are generally strong. Verify upload speed, desk quality and quiet-room requirements with the property; yatai and nightlife districts are poor work bases.

Planning estimates

Estimates only. These are editorial planning ranges, not live prices, availability or quotes.

Daily estimate — budget — $66–$132 USD · Solo traveler; dorm/capsule or basic room, convenience-store/simple meals, subway/walking, mostly free sights.

Daily estimate — mid-range — $150–$280 USD · Solo traveler in a well-rated business hotel, mixed casual dining, regular transit and several paid experiences.

Daily estimate — comfortable — $325–$610 USD · Upscale central hotel, restaurant dining, occasional taxis and paid day trips; peak events can exceed the range.

30-day estimate — $2410–$6050 USD · One person, 30 nights, monthly apartment or extended-stay/business-hotel rate where available, mostly local meals, urban transit, four to eight paid outings, no international airfare.

Alternatives to consider

Osaka — Choose for a larger food-and-nightlife city with broader Kansai day trips.

Hiroshima — Choose for modern-history depth and Miyajima access at a calmer scale.

Kyoto — Choose for temples, gardens and heritage density rather than airport ease and casual food culture.

Busan — Comparable compact port-city energy, seafood and beaches; confirm inventory identity before linking.

Taipei — Comparable food-first city break with easy transit and day trips; confirm inventory identity.

Seoul — Choose for much greater scale, shopping and nightlife; higher intensity and longer transfers.

Source ledger

checked 2026-09-02 · recheck after 2026-10-02

Similar places in Japan

Explore more places in Japan

Looking beyond Japan?

These are outside Japan. Each one is labelled with its own country; those without a page are shown as previews only.

  • Bali — Indonesia · IslandPreview onlyIsland living with a bigger long-stay community — page not built yet.

Sources and freshness

Planning guidance checked 2026-09-02; verify prices, schedules, entry rules and local conditions before booking.

  • Fukuoka City — 2026-09-02
  • Fukuoka City Area Guide — 2026-09-02
  • Fukuoka Airport subway access — 2026-09-02
  • Fukuoka City Subway route map — 2026-09-02
  • Climatological Normals 1991–2020 — 2026-09-02
  • Fukuoka hotel-price analysis — 2026-09-02
  • Accessibility services — 2026-09-02
  • Japan travel guidance — 2026-09-02
  • Airport work booth — 2026-09-02

Daily ground budget

What one day on the ground costs here, per traveller, with international airfare excluded.