MTC cost guide

How much does a week in Diani Beach cost?

A beach week at Diani on Kenya's south coast: one hotel, a whole-car transfer from Mombasa (MBA), short local rides and no paid excursions in the base basket.

Scope, dates and party

These are dated ground-cost examples for two adults sharing one room, staying six nights over seven days, 10–16 November 2026. International flights, visas, insurance and shopping are excluded. They are planning examples, not live booking offers or year-round price ranges.

What is specific to this budget

  • Hotel taxes are estimated from the supplier's figures and counted once. They are not a certified checkout breakdown, so confirm them for the room you book.
  • Food is a planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel. If your room includes breakfast or half board, remove the matching meals before repricing; meals included in a booked tour are already removed, so they are never paid twice.
  • The budget, mid-range and luxury tiers are led by the hotel: each tier is one named, date-matched hotel, and baskets A and B mainly change the food and activity mix; in some scopes (for example Rio) a basket also swaps transport, such as a private tour replacing bus trips. A higher hotel tier does not imply luxury dining or private transport.
  • What changes the bill most: the hotel you pick, the season and exact dates, and whether you keep to public transport. Party composition and room requirements can change pricing; these examples are for two adults in one room, so a different party needs repricing rather than linear multiplication.

Transfer and hotels

The supplier shows KES 5,000 per car to Diani, with its own converted figure kept as displayed rather than an independently checked exchange rate. Tombo House is not claimed to be beachfront. Board terms are unknown: if meals are included, remove the matching meal lines.

What is not included

Safaris, marine trips and equipment are excluded; a zero line for beach walks does not mean every beach service is free.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised examples from 2026-11-10 to 2026-11-16: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in September 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated planning estimate for two adults sharing one room, seven days/six nights, 10–16 November 2026. Flights excluded. Hotel board, taxes and availability require confirmation. Planning allowances are not supplier quotes.

Arrival is at MBA (Mombasa) with a whole-car transfer. Tombo House is not claimed to be beachfront. Room board terms are unknown: if meals turn out to be included, remove the matching meal lines. No safari is included.

Budget · Example A

Total for two adults

1,014.70 USD

72.48 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation base

    6 × 79.19 USD (room-night) = 475.14 USD ≈ 475.14 USD

    Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.

  • Reported hotel taxes estimate

    6 × 14.26 USD (room-night) = 85.56 USD ≈ 85.56 USD

    Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.

  • Mombasa airport car transfers

    2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD

    The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.

  • Local car allowance

    4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD

    Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.

  • Beach walks

    2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD

    No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.

  • External breakfast

    14 × 4 USD (person-meal) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External lunch

    14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External dinner

    14 × 10 USD (person-meal) = 140 USD ≈ 140.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks

    14 × 3 USD (person-day) = 42 USD ≈ 42.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

Tombo House. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.

Budget · Example B

Total for two adults

1,280.70 USD

91.48 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation base

    6 × 79.19 USD (room-night) = 475.14 USD ≈ 475.14 USD

    Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.

  • Reported hotel taxes estimate

    6 × 14.26 USD (room-night) = 85.56 USD ≈ 85.56 USD

    Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.

  • Mombasa airport car transfers

    2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD

    The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.

  • Local car allowance

    4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD

    Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.

  • Beach walks

    2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD

    No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.

  • External breakfast

    14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External lunch

    14 × 12 USD (person-meal) = 168 USD ≈ 168.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External dinner

    14 × 20 USD (person-meal) = 280 USD ≈ 280.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks

    14 × 4 USD (person-day) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

Tombo House. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.

Mid-range · Example A

Total for two adults

1,264.06 USD

90.29 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation base

    6 × 114.41 USD (room-night) = 686.46 USD ≈ 686.46 USD

    Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.

  • Reported hotel taxes estimate

    6 × 20.6 USD (room-night) = 123.6 USD ≈ 123.60 USD

    Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.

  • Mombasa airport car transfers

    2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD

    The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.

  • Local car allowance

    4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD

    Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.

  • Beach walks

    2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD

    No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.

  • External breakfast

    14 × 4 USD (person-meal) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External lunch

    14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External dinner

    14 × 10 USD (person-meal) = 140 USD ≈ 140.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks

    14 × 3 USD (person-day) = 42 USD ≈ 42.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

Safari Beach Hotel. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.

Mid-range · Example B

Total for two adults

1,530.06 USD

109.29 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation base

    6 × 114.41 USD (room-night) = 686.46 USD ≈ 686.46 USD

    Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.

  • Reported hotel taxes estimate

    6 × 20.6 USD (room-night) = 123.6 USD ≈ 123.60 USD

    Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.

  • Mombasa airport car transfers

    2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD

    The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.

  • Local car allowance

    4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD

    Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.

  • Beach walks

    2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD

    No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.

  • External breakfast

    14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External lunch

    14 × 12 USD (person-meal) = 168 USD ≈ 168.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External dinner

    14 × 20 USD (person-meal) = 280 USD ≈ 280.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks

    14 × 4 USD (person-day) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

Safari Beach Hotel. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.

Premium · Example A

Total for two adults

2,620.00 USD

187.14 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation base

    6 × 305.93 USD (room-night) = 1,835.58 USD ≈ 1,835.58 USD

    Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.

  • Reported hotel taxes estimate

    6 × 55.07 USD (room-night) = 330.42 USD ≈ 330.42 USD

    Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.

  • Mombasa airport car transfers

    2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD

    The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.

  • Local car allowance

    4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD

    Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.

  • Beach walks

    2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD

    No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.

  • External breakfast

    14 × 4 USD (person-meal) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External lunch

    14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External dinner

    14 × 10 USD (person-meal) = 140 USD ≈ 140.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks

    14 × 3 USD (person-day) = 42 USD ≈ 42.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

Swahili Beach. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.

Premium · Example B

Total for two adults

2,886.00 USD

206.14 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation base

    6 × 305.93 USD (room-night) = 1,835.58 USD ≈ 1,835.58 USD

    Dated nightly search price for 10–16 November 2026; room category and meals were not specified. Not a checkout quote.

  • Reported hotel taxes estimate

    6 × 55.07 USD (room-night) = 330.42 USD ≈ 330.42 USD

    Estimated from the supplier's nightly tax figure for six nights, counted once. It does not certify every legal or local levy.

  • Mombasa airport car transfers

    2 × 39 USD (vehicle one-way) = 78 USD ≈ 78.00 USD

    The supplier shows KES 5,000 (about USD 39) per car; the USD figure is kept as displayed, not an independently checked exchange rate. Priced to Diani, not Galu or Chale.

  • Local car allowance

    4 × 10 USD (vehicle journey) = 40 USD ≈ 40.00 USD

    Planned short local journeys; not a matched fare.

  • Beach walks

    2 × 0 USD (adult activity envelope) = 0 USD ≈ 0.00 USD

    No paid excursion in base. Marine activities, equipment and safari excluded; zero is not an assertion that every beach service is free.

  • External breakfast

    14 × 7 USD (person-meal) = 98 USD ≈ 98.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External lunch

    14 × 12 USD (person-meal) = 168 USD ≈ 168.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • External dinner

    14 × 20 USD (person-meal) = 280 USD ≈ 280.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

  • Nonalcoholic drinks and snacks

    14 × 4 USD (person-day) = 56 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    Planning allowance for meals bought outside the hotel, not a menu price. If your room includes meals, remove the matching meals before repricing.

Swahili Beach. Separate external meals are deliberate planned spending, not a claim of room-only rates. If using hotel-included breakfast/half-board, remove corresponding external meal quantities before repricing. Included tour meals already removed.

Not included: Intercity overnight travel, International and domestic airfare, Automatic contingency buffer (none applied), All flights, Visas/eVisas/entry fees, Travel/medical insurance, Personal shopping, Alcohol, Unselected excursions, Refundable deposits/credit-card holds, Thermal clothing purchase or rental unless expressly included

Practical notes

Moi International Airport in Mombasa (MBA) is the modeled arrival point. A local transfer operator publishes KES 5000 per economy car to Diani; the model uses its displayed approximate USD 39 per vehicle, each way. This is not a per-person fare. Allow route and traffic flexibility, and confirm the final hotel location and any child seats before travel.

Limits of these examples

November–December can bring short rains. Tides and sea conditions affect swimming and boat activities; a beach photograph does not establish year-round safe swimming. Safari fees, domestic flights, visas, insurance and optional marine excursions are excluded. Room-board information remains rate-specific and requires checking to avoid paying twice for included meals.

Cost sources (6)

Compiled and totalled by My Travel Choices (MTC) from the dated sources credited with each example. Research estimates, not bookable offers. How we build these examples · Cite this guide

Next steps