MTC cost guide

Fukuoka accommodation tax and hotel VAT

A Fukuoka room price often leaves out two separate charges: 10% consumption tax and a per-person, per-night accommodation tax. MTC reserves both, and says where each assumption could be wrong.

Scope, dates and party

These are dated ground-cost illustrations for two adults sharing one room, six nights over seven days, 19–25 January 2027. They cover Fukuoka city — Hakata and Tenjin. Kitakyushu, regional Kyushu and intercity rail are excluded. Hotel prices are public room-table observations from 2 October 2026, not checkout-reconciled quotes. Flights, visas and insurance are excluded. They are not bookable, not quotes, and not year-round ranges or calculator defaults.

What is specific to this budget

  • Hotel VAT: each priced room table shows 10% excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount.
  • Accommodation tax: the city charges 200 yen per person per night below a 20,000-yen nightly price and 500 yen at or above it; the prefecture's 50 yen is already part of those amounts and is not added again.
  • The examples assume all 12 person-nights fall in the lower bracket. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed — a higher bracket would raise the tax.
  • At APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae, whether the room price already includes the accommodation tax is unconfirmed, so the reserve may overlap and must be reconciled at checkout.

Restaurants are different

The Royal Host menu prices used for meals are tax-inclusive, so no second consumption tax is added to them.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised examples from 2027-01-19 to 2027-01-25: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in October 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated planning illustration for two adults sharing one room, 19–25 January 2027: seven days and six nights, flights excluded. Hotel prices are public room-table observations from 2 October 2026, not checkout-reconciled quotes. Breakfast allowances, transport, drinks and activities are MTC gross estimates, not supplier quotes or free attractions. Not bookable, not a quote and not an annual or calculator default.

All three are room only (14 breakfasts budgeted). Each reserve combines 10% hotel VAT and a conditional accommodation-tax reserve. Every total shows the provisional tax reserve and the subtotal before it. Each example is headed by its hotel's name; the listing order follows room price, not quality.

APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae · Example A

Total for two adults

1,197.71 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 62.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,134.82 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A compact room with one 140 cm double bed — not a twin. Whether the room price already includes the accommodation tax is unconfirmed, so the city-tax reserve may overlap. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

85.55 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 477 USD (stay) = 477 USD ≈ 477.00 USD

    Source-backed: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. 477.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 47.7 USD (stay) = 47.7 USD ≈ 47.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,958 JPY (person-dinner) = 27,412 JPY ≈ 173.51 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae · Example B

Total for two adults

1,291.29 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 62.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,228.40 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A compact room with one 140 cm double bed — not a twin. Whether the room price already includes the accommodation tax is unconfirmed, so the city-tax reserve may overlap. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

92.24 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 477 USD (stay) = 477 USD ≈ 477.00 USD

    Source-backed: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. 477.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 47.7 USD (stay) = 47.7 USD ≈ 47.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 3,014 JPY (person-dinner) = 42,196 JPY ≈ 267.09 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: APA Hotel Hakata Gion Ekimae — Standard Double Room (one 140 cm double bed, about 10–12 m²); room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin · Example A

Total for two adults

1,296.71 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 71.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,224.82 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Tenjin base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

92.62 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 567 USD (stay) = 567 USD ≈ 567.00 USD

    Source-backed: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. 567.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 56.7 USD (stay) = 56.7 USD ≈ 56.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,958 JPY (person-dinner) = 27,412 JPY ≈ 173.51 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin · Example B

Total for two adults

1,390.29 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 71.89 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,318.40 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Tenjin base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

99.31 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 567 USD (stay) = 567 USD ≈ 567.00 USD

    Source-backed: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. 567.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 56.7 USD (stay) = 56.7 USD ≈ 56.70 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 3,014 JPY (person-dinner) = 42,196 JPY ≈ 267.09 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: KOKO HOTEL Fukuoka Tenjin — Standard Double Room, non-smoking; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 18 January 2027; nothing to pay until 16 January 2027.

THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier · Example A

Total for two adults

1,856.61 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 122.79 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,733.82 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Hakata base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

132.62 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 1,076 USD (stay) = 1,076 USD ≈ 1,076.00 USD

    Source-backed: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. 1,076.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 107.6 USD (stay) = 107.6 USD ≈ 107.60 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,958 JPY (person-dinner) = 27,412 JPY ≈ 173.51 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; nothing to pay until 14 January 2027.

THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier · Example B

Total for two adults

1,950.19 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL tax reserve of 122.79 USD (10% hotel VAT plus a conditional 2,400 JPY accommodation-tax reserve). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,827.40 USD. The tax is mandatory, not optional, but this is a calculated reserve — not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum; replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice. Dated illustration, NOT checkout-reconciled and not an annual or calculator default: hotel prices are public room-table observations in whole US dollars; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. Hotels are listed by observed room price alone, not quality. A Hakata base. 10% VAT and city tax are shown as excluded. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; optional hotel breakfast prices are not credits.

139.30 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights — observed room price

    1 × 1,076 USD (stay) = 1,076 USD ≈ 1,076.00 USD

    Source-backed: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. 1,076.00 USD as displayed. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026 in whole US dollars; not an exact checkout quote. Converted cents add no supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional hotel-tax reserve (mandatory tax, calculated)

    1 × 107.6 USD (stay) = 107.6 USD ≈ 107.60 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional hotel-VAT reserve: the room table shows 10% VAT excluded, so one 10% reserve is added on the displayed amount. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Conditional city/accommodation-tax reserve (calculated, may overlap)

    1 × 2,400 JPY (stay) = 2,400 JPY ≈ 15.19 USD

    Source-backed: Conditional accommodation-tax reserve of 2,400 JPY: Fukuoka's tax of 200 JPY per person per night (the prefecture's 50 JPY is already inside that 200 and is not added again), assuming all 12 person-nights fall below 20,000 JPY; 500 JPY per person per night applies at 20,000 JPY or more. The native nightly price base is unknown, so this is not guaranteed. Whether the room price already includes it is not stated; it may overlap and must be reconciled. The tax is mandatory, not optional; this is a calculated reserve, not an observed checkout total or a guaranteed maximum. Replace it with the actual charge and never pay any part twice.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 1,000 JPY (person-breakfast) = 14,000 JPY ≈ 88.62 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 1,000 JPY per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because no breakfast is credited.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 1,408 JPY (person-lunch) = 19,712 JPY ≈ 124.77 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 3,014 JPY (person-dinner) = 42,196 JPY ≈ 267.09 USD

    Source-backed: Royal Host, Tenjin Nishidori branch — standard menu, prices tax-inclusive. Lunch: beef Java curry 1,408 JPY per adult. Dinner A: shrimp tomato-cream spaghetti 1,958 JPY, which already includes half a portion of garlic bread. Dinner B adds corn soup 528 and two scoops of ice cream 528 = 3,014 JPY. No second consumption tax and no extra bread charge are added. The branch opens 11:00–23:00 after its breakfast break; reconfirm future availability and local differences. Not a halal certification, a cheapest-city average or a seven-day itinerary.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,200 JPY (party-day) = 8,400 JPY ≈ 53.17 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 4,000 JPY (direction) = 8,000 JPY ≈ 50.64 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Fukuoka Airport (FUK) and a Hakata or Tenjin hotel, each way. The subway serves the domestic side; international arrivals need the terminal transfer. An allowance, not a fare.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 1,200 JPY (ride) = 14,400 JPY ≈ 91.15 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for taxis between Hakata, Tenjin and the waterfront; not a quoted fare. Subway and bus trips are usually cheaper, and no rail pass is assumed.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 6,000 JPY (adult) = 12,000 JPY ≈ 75.96 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Kitakyushu and regional Kyushu trips are excluded.

Hotel: THE BLOSSOM HAKATA Premier — Moderate Double Room; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; nothing to pay until 14 January 2027.

Not included: Flights, Visas and insurance, Shopping, voluntary tips and regional trips, Refundable deposits and card holds

Reference exchange rates dated 2026-10-01: 1 USD = 157.984 JPY. Your card rate at payment may differ.

Rate source as recorded in the research: ECB reference, 1 October 2026: EUR 1 = USD 1.1298 = JPY 178.49; full cross ratio. Hotel prices were shown in USD. Not a card or retail rate

Practical notes

The subway serves the airport's domestic side; international arrivals must account for terminal transfer time. Check the room's bed arrangement and local accommodation tax. Do not assume a capsule listing is a private double room or that breakfast is included.

Limits of these examples

Covers Fukuoka city — Hakata and Tenjin. Kitakyushu, regional Kyushu and intercity rail are excluded. Prices are dated snapshots for 19–25 January 2027, not year-round ranges or calculator defaults; exact checkout totals were not verified.

Cost sources (11)

Compiled and totalled by My Travel Choices (MTC) from the dated sources credited with each example. Research estimates, not bookable offers. How we build these examples · Cite this guide

Next steps