MTC cost guide

Bucharest trip cost: three hotels for two, January 2027

Bucharest rewards a short city break built around historic streets, monumental architecture, cafés and parks. The old town is useful for evening activity, but a quieter adjacent street may be a better sleeping base. These examples price a January week, with every hotel, meal, allowance and the city-tax reserve itemised.

Scope, dates and party

These are dated ground-cost illustrations for two adults sharing one room, six nights over seven days, 19–25 January 2027, in central Bucharest with one Floreasca alternative. Hotel prices are public room-table observations from 2 October 2026, not checkout quotes; the restaurant menu was reviewed the same day. Flights, visas, insurance, Transylvania, Bran and airport-area spas are excluded. They are not bookable, not quotes, and not year-round ranges or calculator defaults.

What is specific to this budget

  • Three named hotels, each with two baskets. Baskets A and B keep the hotel and change only the dinner. Hotels are ordered by the observed hotel price alone: the budget, mid-range and premium labels are not permanent quality categories and do not rank full trip totals.
  • Every Bucharest total shows, right beside it, a provisional city-tax reserve and the subtotal before it. The tax is real and not optional, but the room tables do not show whether it is already included, and the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples. Remove the reserve if your booking already collected the tax; never pay it twice.
  • All three Bucharest rooms are room only, so all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance. Lunch and dinner come from one Old Town beer hall's regular menu; dinner B is a starter, main and dessert plus a side. Tips are optional and not included, and any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero.

Planning the days

Choose a central base with easy transport, and check street noise and the exact entrance. Mix walking with one substantial indoor visit a day; palace visits, concerts and other timed experiences need their own current booking check. Courtyard Floreasca is a northern business-district alternative near Floreasca and Pipera, not an Old Town hotel, so allow for the journey into the centre.

Season

Spring and early autumn suit a walking-led trip. Midsummer can be hot, while winter brings cold and potentially slippery surfaces. The monthly scores concern this city programme, not ski holidays or a Transylvanian road trip.

Arrival and practical notes

OTP is outside the centre; allow for the onward journey rather than treating arrival as a city stop. Confirm licensed transport and card acceptance. Keep Bran, mountain routes and airport-area spas out of the city-only cost model.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised examples from 2027-01-19 to 2027-01-25: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in October 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated planning illustration for two adults sharing one room, 19–25 January 2027: seven days and six nights, flights excluded. Hotel prices are public room-table observations from 2 October 2026, not checkout quotes; the restaurant menu was reviewed the same day. Breakfast allowances, transport, drinks and activities are MTC gross estimates, not supplier quotes. Not bookable, not a quote and not an annual default.

All three hotels are room only, so every breakfast uses the MTC allowance and lunch and dinner use Caru' cu Bere's menu. Every total carries a separately shown PROVISIONAL city-tax reserve with the subtotal before it. Courtyard Floreasca is outside the Old Town. Hotels are ordered by hotel price alone, not fixed budget tiers.

Budget · Example A

Total for two adults

1,522.71 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL Bucharest city-tax reserve of 25.66 USD (120 RON). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,497.05 USD. The tax is not optional, but whether the hotel price already includes it and the 2027 rate were not verified for these examples: remove the line if already collected, never pay it twice. Qualified illustration, not a checkout quote: hotel prices are dated public room-table observations in whole euros; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. All three rooms are room only, so all 42 meals are budgeted outside. Meals use Caru' cu Bere's regular menu; tips are optional and not included. A northern business-district base near Floreasca and Pipera, not an Old Town hotel: central sightseeing means a ride each way. Its room price equals Moxy's here, but the location and experience differ. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; the hotel's optional 19 EUR breakfast is not used because its unit is not established. Courtyard Floreasca and Moxy have the same observed room price, so the budget and mid-range labels for them are display slots only, not a quality or location ranking.

108.77 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (dated public room-table price)

    1 × 559 EUR (stay) = 559 EUR ≈ 631.56 USD

    Source-backed: Courtyard by Marriott Bucharest Floreasca — Standard King guest room, one king bed; room only. 559 EUR. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026, shown in whole currency units; not an exact checkout quote. Listed taxes and charges are included once. Converted US-dollar cents do not add supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve, per person-night

    12 × 10 RON (person-night) = 120 RON ≈ 25.66 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve: 2 adults × 6 nights × 10 RON = 120 RON (25.66 USD), based on the rate the city adopted on 23 December 2025 for 2026. The tax itself is not optional, but this is not a confirmed January 2027 bill or a guaranteed maximum: the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples, and the room tables say taxes and charges are included without showing this tax separately. If the booking already collected it, remove this line rather than paying twice; otherwise use the actual 2027 amount.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 50 RON (person-breakfast) = 700 RON ≈ 149.70 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 50 RON per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because this room is room only.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 55 RON (person-lunch) = 770 RON ≈ 164.67 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 75.5 RON (person-dinner) = 1,057 RON ≈ 226.05 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 60 RON (party-day) = 420 RON ≈ 89.82 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only; drinks included in a hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 150 RON (direction) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Bucharest airport (OTP) and the hotel, each way; not a fare. The airport is outside the city, so allow for the journey; no transfer time is promised.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 25 RON (ride) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget, not a quoted fare. A Floreasca base needs rides into the centre, so add more if you stay there.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 250 RON (adult) = 500 RON ≈ 106.93 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Palace visits and concerts need their own current booking check; Bran, Transylvania and airport-area spas are excluded.

Hotel: Courtyard by Marriott Bucharest Floreasca — Standard King guest room, one king bed; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 19 January 2027; no prepayment; pay at the property.

Budget · Example B

Total for two adults

1,757.73 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL Bucharest city-tax reserve of 25.66 USD (120 RON). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,732.07 USD. The tax is not optional, but whether the hotel price already includes it and the 2027 rate were not verified for these examples: remove the line if already collected, never pay it twice. Qualified illustration, not a checkout quote: hotel prices are dated public room-table observations in whole euros; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. All three rooms are room only, so all 42 meals are budgeted outside. Meals use Caru' cu Bere's regular menu; tips are optional and not included. A northern business-district base near Floreasca and Pipera, not an Old Town hotel: central sightseeing means a ride each way. Its room price equals Moxy's here, but the location and experience differ. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; the hotel's optional 19 EUR breakfast is not used because its unit is not established. Courtyard Floreasca and Moxy have the same observed room price, so the budget and mid-range labels for them are display slots only, not a quality or location ranking.

125.55 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (dated public room-table price)

    1 × 559 EUR (stay) = 559 EUR ≈ 631.56 USD

    Source-backed: Courtyard by Marriott Bucharest Floreasca — Standard King guest room, one king bed; room only. 559 EUR. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026, shown in whole currency units; not an exact checkout quote. Listed taxes and charges are included once. Converted US-dollar cents do not add supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve, per person-night

    12 × 10 RON (person-night) = 120 RON ≈ 25.66 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve: 2 adults × 6 nights × 10 RON = 120 RON (25.66 USD), based on the rate the city adopted on 23 December 2025 for 2026. The tax itself is not optional, but this is not a confirmed January 2027 bill or a guaranteed maximum: the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples, and the room tables say taxes and charges are included without showing this tax separately. If the booking already collected it, remove this line rather than paying twice; otherwise use the actual 2027 amount.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 50 RON (person-breakfast) = 700 RON ≈ 149.70 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 50 RON per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because this room is room only.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 55 RON (person-lunch) = 770 RON ≈ 164.67 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 154 RON (person-dinner) = 2,156 RON ≈ 461.07 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 60 RON (party-day) = 420 RON ≈ 89.82 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only; drinks included in a hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 150 RON (direction) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Bucharest airport (OTP) and the hotel, each way; not a fare. The airport is outside the city, so allow for the journey; no transfer time is promised.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 25 RON (ride) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget, not a quoted fare. A Floreasca base needs rides into the centre, so add more if you stay there.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 250 RON (adult) = 500 RON ≈ 106.93 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Palace visits and concerts need their own current booking check; Bran, Transylvania and airport-area spas are excluded.

Hotel: Courtyard by Marriott Bucharest Floreasca — Standard King guest room, one king bed; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 19 January 2027; no prepayment; pay at the property.

Mid-range · Example A

Total for two adults

1,522.71 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL Bucharest city-tax reserve of 25.66 USD (120 RON). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,497.05 USD. The tax is not optional, but whether the hotel price already includes it and the 2027 rate were not verified for these examples: remove the line if already collected, never pay it twice. Qualified illustration, not a checkout quote: hotel prices are dated public room-table observations in whole euros; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. All three rooms are room only, so all 42 meals are budgeted outside. Meals use Caru' cu Bere's regular menu; tips are optional and not included. An Old Town base; check street noise and the exact entrance. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; the hotel's optional 18 EUR breakfast is not used because its unit is not established. Courtyard Floreasca and Moxy have the same observed room price, so the budget and mid-range labels for them are display slots only, not a quality or location ranking.

108.77 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (dated public room-table price)

    1 × 559 EUR (stay) = 559 EUR ≈ 631.56 USD

    Source-backed: Moxy Bucharest Old Town — Moxy Standard guest room, one queen bed; room only. 559 EUR. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026, shown in whole currency units; not an exact checkout quote. Listed taxes and charges are included once. Converted US-dollar cents do not add supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve, per person-night

    12 × 10 RON (person-night) = 120 RON ≈ 25.66 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve: 2 adults × 6 nights × 10 RON = 120 RON (25.66 USD), based on the rate the city adopted on 23 December 2025 for 2026. The tax itself is not optional, but this is not a confirmed January 2027 bill or a guaranteed maximum: the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples, and the room tables say taxes and charges are included without showing this tax separately. If the booking already collected it, remove this line rather than paying twice; otherwise use the actual 2027 amount.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 50 RON (person-breakfast) = 700 RON ≈ 149.70 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 50 RON per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because this room is room only.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 55 RON (person-lunch) = 770 RON ≈ 164.67 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 75.5 RON (person-dinner) = 1,057 RON ≈ 226.05 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 60 RON (party-day) = 420 RON ≈ 89.82 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only; drinks included in a hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 150 RON (direction) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Bucharest airport (OTP) and the hotel, each way; not a fare. The airport is outside the city, so allow for the journey; no transfer time is promised.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 25 RON (ride) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget, not a quoted fare. A Floreasca base needs rides into the centre, so add more if you stay there.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 250 RON (adult) = 500 RON ≈ 106.93 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Palace visits and concerts need their own current booking check; Bran, Transylvania and airport-area spas are excluded.

Hotel: Moxy Bucharest Old Town — Moxy Standard guest room, one queen bed; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 19 January 2027; no prepayment; pay at the property.

Mid-range · Example B

Total for two adults

1,757.73 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL Bucharest city-tax reserve of 25.66 USD (120 RON). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,732.07 USD. The tax is not optional, but whether the hotel price already includes it and the 2027 rate were not verified for these examples: remove the line if already collected, never pay it twice. Qualified illustration, not a checkout quote: hotel prices are dated public room-table observations in whole euros; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. All three rooms are room only, so all 42 meals are budgeted outside. Meals use Caru' cu Bere's regular menu; tips are optional and not included. An Old Town base; check street noise and the exact entrance. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance; the hotel's optional 18 EUR breakfast is not used because its unit is not established. Courtyard Floreasca and Moxy have the same observed room price, so the budget and mid-range labels for them are display slots only, not a quality or location ranking.

125.55 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (dated public room-table price)

    1 × 559 EUR (stay) = 559 EUR ≈ 631.56 USD

    Source-backed: Moxy Bucharest Old Town — Moxy Standard guest room, one queen bed; room only. 559 EUR. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026, shown in whole currency units; not an exact checkout quote. Listed taxes and charges are included once. Converted US-dollar cents do not add supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve, per person-night

    12 × 10 RON (person-night) = 120 RON ≈ 25.66 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve: 2 adults × 6 nights × 10 RON = 120 RON (25.66 USD), based on the rate the city adopted on 23 December 2025 for 2026. The tax itself is not optional, but this is not a confirmed January 2027 bill or a guaranteed maximum: the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples, and the room tables say taxes and charges are included without showing this tax separately. If the booking already collected it, remove this line rather than paying twice; otherwise use the actual 2027 amount.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 50 RON (person-breakfast) = 700 RON ≈ 149.70 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 50 RON per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because this room is room only.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 55 RON (person-lunch) = 770 RON ≈ 164.67 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 154 RON (person-dinner) = 2,156 RON ≈ 461.07 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 60 RON (party-day) = 420 RON ≈ 89.82 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only; drinks included in a hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 150 RON (direction) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Bucharest airport (OTP) and the hotel, each way; not a fare. The airport is outside the city, so allow for the journey; no transfer time is promised.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 25 RON (ride) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget, not a quoted fare. A Floreasca base needs rides into the centre, so add more if you stay there.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 250 RON (adult) = 500 RON ≈ 106.93 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Palace visits and concerts need their own current booking check; Bran, Transylvania and airport-area spas are excluded.

Hotel: Moxy Bucharest Old Town — Moxy Standard guest room, one queen bed; room only. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 19 January 2027; no prepayment; pay at the property.

Premium · Example A

Total for two adults

1,743.02 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL Bucharest city-tax reserve of 25.66 USD (120 RON). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,717.36 USD. The tax is not optional, but whether the hotel price already includes it and the 2027 rate were not verified for these examples: remove the line if already collected, never pay it twice. Qualified illustration, not a checkout quote: hotel prices are dated public room-table observations in whole euros; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. All three rooms are room only, so all 42 meals are budgeted outside. Meals use Caru' cu Bere's regular menu; tips are optional and not included. An Old Town base; check street noise and the exact entrance. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance.

124.50 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (dated public room-table price)

    1 × 754 EUR (stay) = 754 EUR ≈ 851.87 USD

    Source-backed: Hilton Garden Inn Bucharest Old Town — Twin Room; room only. 754 EUR. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026, shown in whole currency units; not an exact checkout quote. Listed taxes and charges are included once. Converted US-dollar cents do not add supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve, per person-night

    12 × 10 RON (person-night) = 120 RON ≈ 25.66 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve: 2 adults × 6 nights × 10 RON = 120 RON (25.66 USD), based on the rate the city adopted on 23 December 2025 for 2026. The tax itself is not optional, but this is not a confirmed January 2027 bill or a guaranteed maximum: the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples, and the room tables say taxes and charges are included without showing this tax separately. If the booking already collected it, remove this line rather than paying twice; otherwise use the actual 2027 amount.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 50 RON (person-breakfast) = 700 RON ≈ 149.70 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 50 RON per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because this room is room only.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 55 RON (person-lunch) = 770 RON ≈ 164.67 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 75.5 RON (person-dinner) = 1,057 RON ≈ 226.05 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 60 RON (party-day) = 420 RON ≈ 89.82 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only; drinks included in a hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 150 RON (direction) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Bucharest airport (OTP) and the hotel, each way; not a fare. The airport is outside the city, so allow for the journey; no transfer time is promised.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 25 RON (ride) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget, not a quoted fare. A Floreasca base needs rides into the centre, so add more if you stay there.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 250 RON (adult) = 500 RON ≈ 106.93 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Palace visits and concerts need their own current booking check; Bran, Transylvania and airport-area spas are excluded.

Hotel: Hilton Garden Inn Bucharest Old Town — Twin Room; room only. Cancellation and payment: Non-refundable; dates cannot be changed; pay online.

Premium · Example B

Total for two adults

1,978.04 USD

Includes a PROVISIONAL Bucharest city-tax reserve of 25.66 USD (120 RON). Subtotal before the reserve: 1,952.38 USD. The tax is not optional, but whether the hotel price already includes it and the 2027 rate were not verified for these examples: remove the line if already collected, never pay it twice. Qualified illustration, not a checkout quote: hotel prices are dated public room-table observations in whole euros; deposits and unlisted extras are unknown, not zero. All three rooms are room only, so all 42 meals are budgeted outside. Meals use Caru' cu Bere's regular menu; tips are optional and not included. An Old Town base; check street noise and the exact entrance. Room only: all 14 breakfasts use the MTC allowance.

141.29 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (dated public room-table price)

    1 × 754 EUR (stay) = 754 EUR ≈ 851.87 USD

    Source-backed: Hilton Garden Inn Bucharest Old Town — Twin Room; room only. 754 EUR. A dated public room-table price observed 2 October 2026, shown in whole currency units; not an exact checkout quote. Listed taxes and charges are included once. Converted US-dollar cents do not add supplier precision; deposits, holds and unlisted local charges are unknown, not zero; future availability and discounts are not guaranteed.

  • Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve, per person-night

    12 × 10 RON (person-night) = 120 RON ≈ 25.66 USD

    Source-backed: Provisional Bucharest city-tax reserve: 2 adults × 6 nights × 10 RON = 120 RON (25.66 USD), based on the rate the city adopted on 23 December 2025 for 2026. The tax itself is not optional, but this is not a confirmed January 2027 bill or a guaranteed maximum: the 2027 rate was not verified for these examples, and the room tables say taxes and charges are included without showing this tax separately. If the booking already collected it, remove this line rather than paying twice; otherwise use the actual 2027 amount.

  • Breakfast allowance per adult (not a hotel or café price)

    14 × 50 RON (person-breakfast) = 700 RON ≈ 149.70 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): 50 RON per person-breakfast for all 14 breakfasts, because this room is room only.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 55 RON (person-lunch) = 770 RON ≈ 164.67 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark)

    14 × 154 RON (person-dinner) = 2,156 RON ≈ 461.07 USD

    Source-backed: Caru' cu Bere, Old Town — official September 2026 menu, reviewed 2 October 2026. Lunch: mushroom stew with polenta 55 RON per adult. Dinner A: turkey-breast schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 = 75.50 RON. Dinner B: vegetable cream soup with croutons 35.50 + schnitzel 63 + polenta 12.50 + homemade ice cream with red-berry coulis 43 = 154 RON — a starter, main and dessert plus a side chosen from the regular menu, not a set menu. Menu prices are used as shown with no VAT added; the menu does not state VAT or every possible charge, so any unlisted cover or service is unknown, not zero. The menu invites voluntary tips (10, 12 or 15%); tips are optional and not included. No halal certification is claimed. A price benchmark, not a seven-day dining plan or a January price guarantee.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 60 RON (party-day) = 420 RON ≈ 89.82 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Optional budget for additional drinks only; drinks included in a hotel plan are never charged a second time.

  • Airport car allowance, each way

    2 × 150 RON (direction) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget for one car for two adults between Bucharest airport (OTP) and the hotel, each way; not a fare. The airport is outside the city, so allow for the journey; no transfer time is promised.

  • Local ride allowance for the two of you

    12 × 25 RON (ride) = 300 RON ≈ 64.16 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Planning budget, not a quoted fare. A Floreasca base needs rides into the centre, so add more if you stay there.

  • Optional city activities allowance per adult

    2 × 250 RON (adult) = 500 RON ≈ 106.93 USD

    MTC gross estimate (not a supplier quote): Discretionary; no named ticket is promised. Palace visits and concerts need their own current booking check; Bran, Transylvania and airport-area spas are excluded.

Hotel: Hilton Garden Inn Bucharest Old Town — Twin Room; room only. Cancellation and payment: Non-refundable; dates cannot be changed; pay online.

Not included: Flights, Visas and insurance, Tips (optional), Transylvania, Bran and airport-area spas

Reference exchange rates dated 2026-10-01: 1 EUR = 1.1298 USD · 1 USD = 4.67605 RON. Your card rate at payment may differ.

Rate source as recorded in the research: European Central Bank reference for 1 October 2026: EUR 1 = USD 1.1298 = RON 5.2830; each line converted at the full ratio and rounded to cents. Not a card or retail rate

Practical notes

OTP is outside the centre; allow for the onward journey rather than treating arrival as a city stop. Confirm licensed transport and card acceptance. Keep Bran, mountain routes and airport-area spas out of the city-only cost model.

Limits of these examples

Covers central Bucharest — the Old Town, civic architecture and city parks — plus a northern Floreasca lodging alternative. Transylvania, Bran Castle, mountain routes and airport-area spa packages are excluded. Prices are dated snapshots for 19–25 January 2027, not year-round ranges or calculator defaults.

Cost sources (7)

Compiled and totalled by My Travel Choices (MTC) from the dated sources credited with each example. Research estimates, not bookable offers. How we build these examples · Cite this guide

Next steps