MTC cost guide

Mumbai trip cost: three south Mumbai hotels for two, January 2027

What does a January week based in south Mumbai cost? All three priced hotels include breakfast for two. Every meal is priced from one upscale hotel restaurant's official-hosted menu, which is undated and excludes taxes, so a provisional GST assumption is added and flagged beside every total.

Scope, dates and party

These are dated ground-cost illustrations for two adults sharing one room, six nights over seven days, 19–25 January 2027. Hotel offers were observed on 1 October 2026; the undated restaurant menu was reviewed on 2 October 2026 and a provisional GST assumption is added to it. Flights, visas, insurance, shopping, the Elephanta ferry, studio tours and Goa are excluded. They are not current quotes, booking quotes, year-round ranges or calculator defaults.

What is specific to this budget

  • Three named hotels, each with two baskets. Baskets A and B keep the hotel and change only the dinner; breakfasts, lunches, transport and activities stay the same. The hotels are ordered by the hotel price alone, not by total trip cost or a permanent budget-to-luxury tier, and each hotel's room, breakfast, cancellation and payment terms are printed beside its figures.
  • Breakfasts already included in a hotel rate are credited once and never bought again; taxes and fees already inside a hotel or menu price are not added a second time. Deposits and unlisted extras still need reconfirming, so no total is a guaranteed final bill. Lines marked as MTC allowances are planning budgets, not quotes.
  • The meal tax is an assumption, not a confirmed charge: the menu excludes government taxes, an older official menu used 18% GST and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the restaurant's current classification was not verified. The menu itself is undated and could not be tied to the current download. Treat every total as a qualified illustration, not a current quote.
  • Dinner basket B is three courses (a sandwich, a soup and a dessert). This is an upscale hotel restaurant, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; eating elsewhere can cost far less. No halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed. One hotel's fruit platter and conditional evening drinks are not counted as meals.

South Mumbai, or an airport or BKC hotel

These examples keep you in Colaba, Fort or Nariman Point, close to the Gateway of India, the historic streets and Marine Drive. An airport or Bandra Kurla Complex hotel can look cheaper or more convenient for a short stopover, but for a heritage-led visit it means long road journeys south every day; price that base and its transport separately rather than reusing these totals.

A short distance on the map can still be a long road journey in Mumbai traffic, so group nearby sights on the same day.

Planning the days

Allow three to five days for the Gateway area, historic streets and Marine Drive, with breaks between busy outings. Avoid scheduling distant districts back-to-back. A short map distance can still mean a lengthy road journey.

Season

November to February is a strong general window for outdoor sightseeing. The monsoon season needs a flexible plan and current weather checks; waterfront access and ferry operations should never be assumed from a static guide.

Arrival and getting around

Arrival is Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport (BOM); confirm the terminal on your ticket and do not swap in another Mumbai-area airport. The airport car allowance covers BOM to a hotel in Colaba, Fort or Nariman Point only. The meal prices come from Shamiana at the Taj Mahal Tower in Colaba, so from Nariman Point each meal is a short separate ride. Elephanta ferries, studio tours and trips beyond the city are priced separately.

Common questions

How many days should I allow? Allow 3–5 sightseeing days within this bounded destination. Travel days and optional excursions are separate.

When is a good time to visit? November to February is a strong general window for outdoor sightseeing. The monsoon season needs a flexible plan and current weather checks; waterfront access and ferry operations should never be assumed from a static guide.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised examples from 2027-01-19 to 2027-01-25: 6 nights and 7 days for two adults sharing one room, which is 14 person-days. Prices are as observed in October 2026, cover ground costs only, and are not multiplied out to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated planning illustration for two adults sharing one room, 19–25 January 2027: seven days and six nights, flights excluded. Hotel offers observed 1 October 2026 in INR; the undated restaurant menu was reviewed 2 October 2026 and a provisional 18% GST is added. Not a current quote, a booking quote or an annual default; reprice your own dates, room and meals.

All three hotels include breakfast for two, so 12 breakfasts are credited once and only two outside breakfasts are priced. Every meal uses one undated official-hosted Shamiana menu with a provisional 18% GST added; the venue's current tax classification is unverified, and this is an upscale hotel restaurant, not a city average. Hotel GST is included once. Transport, extra drinks and activities are MTC allowances. Hotels are ordered by hotel price alone.

Budget · Example A

Total for two adults

1,895.63 USD

Qualified illustration, not a current quote: meals use an undated official-hosted Shamiana menu not confirmed as the current download, plus a provisional 18% GST assumption — the venue's current tax classification is unverified. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero. Breakfast for two is included, so 12 breakfasts are credited once. No value is credited for the fruit platter or conditional evening drinks.

135.40 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (listed charges included)

    1 × 115,404 INR (stay) = 115,404 INR ≈ 1,198.02 USD

    Source-backed: Fariyas Hotel Mumbai, Colaba — Deluxe Sea View Room, breakfast for two. Quoted in INR including the stated GST (115,404 INR, of which GST 17,604 INR); converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR (Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026), not the provider's conversion; a pre-booking summary, not a future price guarantee. The fruit platter on call and conditional 18:30–19:30 drinks are not credited against any meal.

  • Breakfast per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    2 × 1,298 INR (person-breakfast) = 2,596 INR ≈ 26.95 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-lunch) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-dinner) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,000 INR (party-day) = 7,000 INR ≈ 72.67 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary budget for additional drinks only, not a supplier quote or a hydration recommendation.

  • Mumbai airport (BOM) car allowance, each way

    2 × 2,000 INR (direction) = 4,000 INR ≈ 41.52 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget for two adults, not a fare; BOM to south Mumbai only — other airports are excluded.

  • Local car ride allowance

    12 × 500 INR (ride) = 6,000 INR ≈ 62.29 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget, not a quoted fare or guaranteed coverage; rides within south Mumbai.

  • Optional activities allowance per adult

    2 × 1,500 INR (adult) = 3,000 INR ≈ 31.14 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary planning budget; no named ticket is promised. Excludes the Elephanta ferry and studio tours.

Hotel: Fariyas Hotel Mumbai, Colaba — Deluxe Sea View Room; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; pay the property before arrival. Listed hotel GST and fees are included once; unlisted extras need reconfirming and are not guaranteed to be zero, so this is not a guaranteed final bill.

Budget · Example B

Total for two adults

2,238.62 USD

Qualified illustration, not a current quote: meals use an undated official-hosted Shamiana menu not confirmed as the current download, plus a provisional 18% GST assumption — the venue's current tax classification is unverified. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero. Breakfast for two is included, so 12 breakfasts are credited once. No value is credited for the fruit platter or conditional evening drinks.

159.90 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (listed charges included)

    1 × 115,404 INR (stay) = 115,404 INR ≈ 1,198.02 USD

    Source-backed: Fariyas Hotel Mumbai, Colaba — Deluxe Sea View Room, breakfast for two. Quoted in INR including the stated GST (115,404 INR, of which GST 17,604 INR); converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR (Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026), not the provider's conversion; a pre-booking summary, not a future price guarantee. The fruit platter on call and conditional 18:30–19:30 drinks are not credited against any meal.

  • Breakfast per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    2 × 1,298 INR (person-breakfast) = 2,596 INR ≈ 26.95 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-lunch) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 3,953 INR (person-dinner) = 55,342 INR ≈ 574.51 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,000 INR (party-day) = 7,000 INR ≈ 72.67 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary budget for additional drinks only, not a supplier quote or a hydration recommendation.

  • Mumbai airport (BOM) car allowance, each way

    2 × 2,000 INR (direction) = 4,000 INR ≈ 41.52 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget for two adults, not a fare; BOM to south Mumbai only — other airports are excluded.

  • Local car ride allowance

    12 × 500 INR (ride) = 6,000 INR ≈ 62.29 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget, not a quoted fare or guaranteed coverage; rides within south Mumbai.

  • Optional activities allowance per adult

    2 × 1,500 INR (adult) = 3,000 INR ≈ 31.14 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary planning budget; no named ticket is promised. Excludes the Elephanta ferry and studio tours.

Hotel: Fariyas Hotel Mumbai, Colaba — Deluxe Sea View Room; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 16 January 2027; pay the property before arrival. Listed hotel GST and fees are included once; unlisted extras need reconfirming and are not guaranteed to be zero, so this is not a guaranteed final bill.

Mid-range · Example A

Total for two adults

2,755.57 USD

Qualified illustration, not a current quote: meals use an undated official-hosted Shamiana menu not confirmed as the current download, plus a provisional 18% GST assumption — the venue's current tax classification is unverified. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero. Breakfast for two is included, so 12 breakfasts are credited once. Nariman Point is a short ride from the Colaba restaurant used for meal prices.

196.83 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (listed charges included)

    1 × 198,240 INR (stay) = 198,240 INR ≈ 2,057.96 USD

    Source-backed: Trident Nariman Point — Executive City View Room, breakfast for two. Quoted in INR including the stated GST (198,240 INR, of which GST 30,240 INR); converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR (Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026), not the provider's conversion; a pre-booking summary, not a future price guarantee.

  • Breakfast per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    2 × 1,298 INR (person-breakfast) = 2,596 INR ≈ 26.95 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-lunch) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-dinner) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,000 INR (party-day) = 7,000 INR ≈ 72.67 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary budget for additional drinks only, not a supplier quote or a hydration recommendation.

  • Mumbai airport (BOM) car allowance, each way

    2 × 2,000 INR (direction) = 4,000 INR ≈ 41.52 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget for two adults, not a fare; BOM to south Mumbai only — other airports are excluded.

  • Local car ride allowance

    12 × 500 INR (ride) = 6,000 INR ≈ 62.29 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget, not a quoted fare or guaranteed coverage; rides within south Mumbai.

  • Optional activities allowance per adult

    2 × 1,500 INR (adult) = 3,000 INR ≈ 31.14 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary planning budget; no named ticket is promised. Excludes the Elephanta ferry and studio tours.

Hotel: Trident Nariman Point — Executive City View Room; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 17 January 2027; pay the property before arrival. Listed hotel GST and fees are included once; unlisted extras need reconfirming and are not guaranteed to be zero, so this is not a guaranteed final bill.

Mid-range · Example B

Total for two adults

3,098.56 USD

Qualified illustration, not a current quote: meals use an undated official-hosted Shamiana menu not confirmed as the current download, plus a provisional 18% GST assumption — the venue's current tax classification is unverified. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero. Breakfast for two is included, so 12 breakfasts are credited once. Nariman Point is a short ride from the Colaba restaurant used for meal prices.

221.33 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (listed charges included)

    1 × 198,240 INR (stay) = 198,240 INR ≈ 2,057.96 USD

    Source-backed: Trident Nariman Point — Executive City View Room, breakfast for two. Quoted in INR including the stated GST (198,240 INR, of which GST 30,240 INR); converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR (Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026), not the provider's conversion; a pre-booking summary, not a future price guarantee.

  • Breakfast per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    2 × 1,298 INR (person-breakfast) = 2,596 INR ≈ 26.95 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-lunch) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 3,953 INR (person-dinner) = 55,342 INR ≈ 574.51 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,000 INR (party-day) = 7,000 INR ≈ 72.67 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary budget for additional drinks only, not a supplier quote or a hydration recommendation.

  • Mumbai airport (BOM) car allowance, each way

    2 × 2,000 INR (direction) = 4,000 INR ≈ 41.52 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget for two adults, not a fare; BOM to south Mumbai only — other airports are excluded.

  • Local car ride allowance

    12 × 500 INR (ride) = 6,000 INR ≈ 62.29 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget, not a quoted fare or guaranteed coverage; rides within south Mumbai.

  • Optional activities allowance per adult

    2 × 1,500 INR (adult) = 3,000 INR ≈ 31.14 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary planning budget; no named ticket is promised. Excludes the Elephanta ferry and studio tours.

Hotel: Trident Nariman Point — Executive City View Room; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 17 January 2027; pay the property before arrival. Listed hotel GST and fees are included once; unlisted extras need reconfirming and are not guaranteed to be zero, so this is not a guaranteed final bill.

Premium · Example A

Total for two adults

3,094.39 USD

Qualified illustration, not a current quote: meals use an undated official-hosted Shamiana menu not confirmed as the current download, plus a provisional 18% GST assumption — the venue's current tax classification is unverified. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero. Breakfast for two is included, so 12 breakfasts are credited once.

221.03 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (listed charges included)

    1 × 230,878.8 INR (stay) = 230,878.8 INR ≈ 2,396.78 USD

    Source-backed: Taj Mahal Tower, Mumbai — Superior Room, City View, King Bed, breakfast for two. Quoted in INR including the stated GST (230,878.80 INR, of which GST 35,218.80 INR); converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR (Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026), not the provider's conversion; a pre-booking summary, not a future price guarantee.

  • Breakfast per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    2 × 1,298 INR (person-breakfast) = 2,596 INR ≈ 26.95 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-lunch) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-dinner) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,000 INR (party-day) = 7,000 INR ≈ 72.67 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary budget for additional drinks only, not a supplier quote or a hydration recommendation.

  • Mumbai airport (BOM) car allowance, each way

    2 × 2,000 INR (direction) = 4,000 INR ≈ 41.52 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget for two adults, not a fare; BOM to south Mumbai only — other airports are excluded.

  • Local car ride allowance

    12 × 500 INR (ride) = 6,000 INR ≈ 62.29 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget, not a quoted fare or guaranteed coverage; rides within south Mumbai.

  • Optional activities allowance per adult

    2 × 1,500 INR (adult) = 3,000 INR ≈ 31.14 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary planning budget; no named ticket is promised. Excludes the Elephanta ferry and studio tours.

Hotel: Taj Mahal Tower, Mumbai — Superior Room, City View, King Bed; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 17 January 2027; pay the property before arrival. Listed hotel GST and fees are included once; unlisted extras need reconfirming and are not guaranteed to be zero, so this is not a guaranteed final bill.

Premium · Example B

Total for two adults

3,437.38 USD

Qualified illustration, not a current quote: meals use an undated official-hosted Shamiana menu not confirmed as the current download, plus a provisional 18% GST assumption — the venue's current tax classification is unverified. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero. Breakfast for two is included, so 12 breakfasts are credited once.

245.53 USD per person per ground day

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Hotel, six nights (listed charges included)

    1 × 230,878.8 INR (stay) = 230,878.8 INR ≈ 2,396.78 USD

    Source-backed: Taj Mahal Tower, Mumbai — Superior Room, City View, King Bed, breakfast for two. Quoted in INR including the stated GST (230,878.80 INR, of which GST 35,218.80 INR); converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR (Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026), not the provider's conversion; a pre-booking summary, not a future price guarantee.

  • Breakfast per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    2 × 1,298 INR (person-breakfast) = 2,596 INR ≈ 26.95 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Lunch per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 1,593 INR (person-lunch) = 22,302 INR ≈ 231.52 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Dinner per adult (menu benchmark, provisional 18% GST added)

    14 × 3,953 INR (person-dinner) = 55,342 INR ≈ 574.51 USD

    Source-backed: Shamiana, Taj Mahal Tower/Palace complex, Apollo Bunder, Colaba. Official-hosted two-page menu reviewed 2 October 2026; its publication date is not stated and the current page's download could not be tied to this exact file, so it is an observed menu benchmark, not a current or January quote. Menu prices: bread omelette 1,100 INR for breakfast; chicken tikka sandwich 1,350 INR for lunch and dinner basket A; dinner basket B adds vegetable pho 1,000 and rasmalai 1,000 INR, 3,350 INR for three courses. The menu excludes government taxes, so the model adds a provisional 18% GST assumption: 1,298 / 1,593 / 3,953 INR. An older official menu used 18% and government guidance applies 18% to specified hotel premises, but the venue's current-year tax classification was not independently confirmed. Service or cover charges are not known to be zero — reconfirm before ordering. An upscale hotel restaurant benchmark, not a city average or a seven-day dining plan; no halal certification or alcohol-free kitchen is claimed.

  • Additional drinks allowance per day for the two of you

    7 × 1,000 INR (party-day) = 7,000 INR ≈ 72.67 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary budget for additional drinks only, not a supplier quote or a hydration recommendation.

  • Mumbai airport (BOM) car allowance, each way

    2 × 2,000 INR (direction) = 4,000 INR ≈ 41.52 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget for two adults, not a fare; BOM to south Mumbai only — other airports are excluded.

  • Local car ride allowance

    12 × 500 INR (ride) = 6,000 INR ≈ 62.29 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Planning budget, not a quoted fare or guaranteed coverage; rides within south Mumbai.

  • Optional activities allowance per adult

    2 × 1,500 INR (adult) = 3,000 INR ≈ 31.14 USD

    MTC allowance (not a supplier price): Discretionary planning budget; no named ticket is promised. Excludes the Elephanta ferry and studio tours.

Hotel: Taj Mahal Tower, Mumbai — Superior Room, City View, King Bed; breakfast included for two adults. Cancellation and payment: Free cancellation before 17 January 2027; pay the property before arrival. Listed hotel GST and fees are included once; unlisted extras need reconfirming and are not guaranteed to be zero, so this is not a guaranteed final bill.

Not included: Flights, Visas and insurance, Shopping, Elephanta ferry, studio tours and Goa

Reference exchange rates dated 2026-10-01: 1 USD = 96.3286 INR. Your card rate at payment may differ.

Rate source as recorded in the research: EUR 1 = USD 1.1298 = INR 108.8320 — Banca d'Italia reference dated 1 October 2026; hotel offers quoted in INR and every INR line converted at 1.1298/108.8320 USD per INR, not the provider's conversion. Not a card or retail rate

Practical notes

Arrival is Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport (BOM); confirm the terminal on your ticket and do not swap in another Mumbai-area airport. The airport car allowance covers BOM to a hotel in Colaba, Fort or Nariman Point only. The meal prices come from Shamiana at the Taj Mahal Tower in Colaba, so from Nariman Point each meal is a short separate ride. Elephanta ferries, studio tours and trips beyond the city are priced separately.

Limits of these examples

Covers south Mumbai: Colaba, Fort and Marine Drive. Airport and BKC lodging, Bollywood studio packages, Goa and the Elephanta ferry are excluded. Prices are dated snapshots for 19–25 January 2027, not year-round ranges or calculator defaults, and the menu is not a daily restaurant itinerary.

Cost sources (7)

Compiled and totalled by My Travel Choices (MTC) from the dated sources credited with each example. Research estimates, not bookable offers. How we build these examples · Cite this guide

Next steps