MTC cost guide

Honolulu: Waikiki shores and the royal capital

Stay in Waikiki for beach time, then set aside a separate outing for downtown Honolulu and its royal history. Kapahulu adds local dining beyond the beachfront. This city package covers Honolulu and Waikiki, with dated hotel observations and conditional spending examples for two adults. Opening hours, luggage rules and ocean conditions can change; check them before travel.

Scope, dates and party

Dated selected-component planning examples for two adults in one room, 10–16 November 2026 (six nights, seven calendar days). Flights, visas and insurance are excluded. Not bookable offers, guaranteed payable totals, year-round ranges or calculator defaults.

What is specific to this budget

  • Three named hotel styles, each with two meal baskets. Style labels describe the hotel reference, not an official star rating or a price ladder.
  • Dates, payment, cancellation and tax confidence are shown beside each total.

How long to stay

Plan at least 2 days and ideally 3–4 days in the city, or 5–6 days with the 2 travel days already included. The seven-day cost examples are separate and are not scaled.

Dated cost examples

Six dated, itemised planning examples for Honolulu, 10–16 November 2026: two adults sharing one room, six nights over seven calendar days (14 person-days), 42 meals with 42 priced drinks. Three hotel styles, each with two meal baskets (A and B). Amounts are not scaled to other party sizes or trip lengths.

Dated selected-component planning estimate — not a guaranteed payable total or booking.

Waikiki hotels with Kapahulu plate-lunch and breakfast meals. Meal rows add Hawaii's 4.712% general excise tax as a conditional planning amount; collection by each operator was not observed. Transport is two 45 USD seven-day HOLO passes plus two 2 USD cards: 94 USD, valid 168 hours from activation; airport rides depend on ordinary baggage rules and both journeys fitting that window. ʻIolani Palace self-led audio is the ordinary 28 USD adult tariff (56 USD for two); dated inventory and checkout fees are unknown.

Budget-style reference — Waikiki Malia, City View 2 Doubles · Example A

Total for two adults

1,818.83 USD

Supplier rate-detail total 916.12 USD (room and three taxes); rest is dated planning

129.92 USD per person per day (14 person-days)

10–16 November 2026; two adults, one room, six nights. Supplier rate-detail total 916.12 USD (room and three taxes); rest is dated planning.

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation

    1 × observed six-night stay / one room / two adults = 916.12 USD ≈ 916.12 USD

    be.synxis.com — checked 2026-10-17

  • Breakfast pair including 2 coffee/tea

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 182.49 USD ≈ 182.49 USD

    Published pair price 24.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.17 = 26.07 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Lunch pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Dinner pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Adult HOLO seven-day passes

    2 × 45 USD per person / 168 hours = 90.00 USD ≈ 90.00 USD

    www.thebus.org — checked 2026-10-16

  • New HOLO cards

    2 × 2 USD per rider card = 4.00 USD ≈ 4.00 USD

    www.holocard.net — checked 2026-10-16

  • Iolani Palace self-led audio

    2 × 28 USD per ordinary adult = 56.00 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    www.iolanipalace.org — checked 2026-10-17

Aloha Autumn Escape rate states the amenity fee is waived, but a generic page footer mentions a 40 USD daily fee; the conflict is unresolved and no fee is added. A first-night deposit on a major card is required; amount and timing are not itemised. Free cancellation until 15:00 three days before arrival, then one night plus tax.

Budget-style reference — Waikiki Malia, City View 2 Doubles · Example B

Total for two adults

1,793.91 USD

Supplier rate-detail total 916.12 USD (room and three taxes); rest is dated planning

128.14 USD per person per day (14 person-days)

10–16 November 2026; two adults, one room, six nights. Supplier rate-detail total 916.12 USD (room and three taxes); rest is dated planning.

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation

    1 × observed six-night stay / one room / two adults = 916.12 USD ≈ 916.12 USD

    be.synxis.com — checked 2026-10-17

  • Breakfast pair including 2 coffee/tea

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 157.57 USD ≈ 157.57 USD

    Published pair price 21.50 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.01 = 22.51 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Lunch pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Dinner pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Adult HOLO seven-day passes

    2 × 45 USD per person / 168 hours = 90.00 USD ≈ 90.00 USD

    www.thebus.org — checked 2026-10-16

  • New HOLO cards

    2 × 2 USD per rider card = 4.00 USD ≈ 4.00 USD

    www.holocard.net — checked 2026-10-16

  • Iolani Palace self-led audio

    2 × 28 USD per ordinary adult = 56.00 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    www.iolanipalace.org — checked 2026-10-17

Aloha Autumn Escape rate states the amenity fee is waived, but a generic page footer mentions a 40 USD daily fee; the conflict is unresolved and no fee is added. A first-night deposit on a major card is required; amount and timing are not itemised. Free cancellation until 15:00 three days before arrival, then one night plus tax.

Mid-range-style reference — Queen Kapiolani, City View Balcony King · Example A

Total for two adults

2,322.51 USD

Hotel total 1,419.80 USD includes the hospitality fee once (50 USD × 6 nights = 300) and its 56.16 USD tax

165.89 USD per person per day (14 person-days)

10–16 November 2026; two adults, one room, six nights. Hotel total 1,419.80 USD includes the hospitality fee once (50 USD × 6 nights = 300) and its 56.16 USD tax.

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation

    1 × observed six-night stay / one room / two adults = 1,419.80 USD ≈ 1,419.80 USD

    be.synxis.com — checked 2026-10-17

  • Breakfast pair including 2 coffee/tea

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 182.49 USD ≈ 182.49 USD

    Published pair price 24.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.17 = 26.07 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Lunch pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Dinner pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Adult HOLO seven-day passes

    2 × 45 USD per person / 168 hours = 90.00 USD ≈ 90.00 USD

    www.thebus.org — checked 2026-10-16

  • New HOLO cards

    2 × 2 USD per rider card = 4.00 USD ≈ 4.00 USD

    www.holocard.net — checked 2026-10-16

  • Iolani Palace self-led audio

    2 × 28 USD per ordinary adult = 56.00 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    www.iolanipalace.org — checked 2026-10-17

QK 3rd Night Free rate. A homepage claim of 50% off the hospitality fee for direct booking was not applied over the actual quote. Card guarantee at booking; charge timing not stated. Cancel 72 hours before arrival, otherwise one night plus tax.

Mid-range-style reference — Queen Kapiolani, City View Balcony King · Example B

Total for two adults

2,297.59 USD

Hotel total 1,419.80 USD includes the hospitality fee once (50 USD × 6 nights = 300) and its 56.16 USD tax

164.11 USD per person per day (14 person-days)

10–16 November 2026; two adults, one room, six nights. Hotel total 1,419.80 USD includes the hospitality fee once (50 USD × 6 nights = 300) and its 56.16 USD tax.

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation

    1 × observed six-night stay / one room / two adults = 1,419.80 USD ≈ 1,419.80 USD

    be.synxis.com — checked 2026-10-17

  • Breakfast pair including 2 coffee/tea

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 157.57 USD ≈ 157.57 USD

    Published pair price 21.50 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.01 = 22.51 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Lunch pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Dinner pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Adult HOLO seven-day passes

    2 × 45 USD per person / 168 hours = 90.00 USD ≈ 90.00 USD

    www.thebus.org — checked 2026-10-16

  • New HOLO cards

    2 × 2 USD per rider card = 4.00 USD ≈ 4.00 USD

    www.holocard.net — checked 2026-10-16

  • Iolani Palace self-led audio

    2 × 28 USD per ordinary adult = 56.00 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    www.iolanipalace.org — checked 2026-10-17

QK 3rd Night Free rate. A homepage claim of 50% off the hospitality fee for direct booking was not applied over the actual quote. Card guarantee at booking; charge timing not stated. Cancel 72 hours before arrival, otherwise one night plus tax.

Premium-style reference — Halekulani, Garden Courtyard Twins · Example A

Total for two adults

6,852.55 USD

Supplier-displayed hotel total 5,949.84 USD including taxes; rest is dated planning

489.47 USD per person per day (14 person-days)

10–16 November 2026; two adults, one room, six nights. Supplier-displayed hotel total 5,949.84 USD including taxes; rest is dated planning.

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation

    1 × observed six-night stay / one room / two adults = 5,949.84 USD ≈ 5,949.84 USD

    booking.halekulani.com — checked 2026-10-17

  • Breakfast pair including 2 coffee/tea

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 182.49 USD ≈ 182.49 USD

    Published pair price 24.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.17 = 26.07 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Lunch pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Dinner pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Adult HOLO seven-day passes

    2 × 45 USD per person / 168 hours = 90.00 USD ≈ 90.00 USD

    www.thebus.org — checked 2026-10-16

  • New HOLO cards

    2 × 2 USD per rider card = 4.00 USD ≈ 4.00 USD

    www.holocard.net — checked 2026-10-16

  • Iolani Palace self-led audio

    2 × 28 USD per ordinary adult = 56.00 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    www.iolanipalace.org — checked 2026-10-17

Standard rate, no resort fee listed for this room. Card guarantee; deposit amount and timing not shown. Cancellation within 72 hours is charged one night plus tax; exact cutoff time not shown. No hotel breakfast credit.

Premium-style reference — Halekulani, Garden Courtyard Twins · Example B

Total for two adults

6,827.63 USD

Supplier-displayed hotel total 5,949.84 USD including taxes; rest is dated planning

487.69 USD per person per day (14 person-days)

10–16 November 2026; two adults, one room, six nights. Supplier-displayed hotel total 5,949.84 USD including taxes; rest is dated planning.

Link to this example
Show itemised lines
  • Accommodation

    1 × observed six-night stay / one room / two adults = 5,949.84 USD ≈ 5,949.84 USD

    booking.halekulani.com — checked 2026-10-17

  • Breakfast pair including 2 coffee/tea

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 157.57 USD ≈ 157.57 USD

    Published pair price 21.50 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.01 = 22.51 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Lunch pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Dinner pair: 2 chicken/gravy plates and 2 small soft drinks

    7 × pair meal on each of 7 calendar days = 285.11 USD ≈ 285.11 USD

    Published pair price 38.90 + conditional 4.712% excise-tax planning amount 1.83 = 40.73 per day; collection by the operator was not observed.

    www.rainbowdrivein.com — checked 2026-10-16

  • Adult HOLO seven-day passes

    2 × 45 USD per person / 168 hours = 90.00 USD ≈ 90.00 USD

    www.thebus.org — checked 2026-10-16

  • New HOLO cards

    2 × 2 USD per rider card = 4.00 USD ≈ 4.00 USD

    www.holocard.net — checked 2026-10-16

  • Iolani Palace self-led audio

    2 × 28 USD per ordinary adult = 56.00 USD ≈ 56.00 USD

    www.iolanipalace.org — checked 2026-10-17

Standard rate, no resort fee listed for this room. Card guarantee; deposit amount and timing not shown. Cancellation within 72 hours is charged one night plus tax; exact cutoff time not shown. No hotel breakfast credit.

Not included: Flights, visas, insurance, shopping, parking and unselected paid activities, Optional tips; unknown deposits, card holds and unlisted charges (unknown, not zero), Other party sizes, room counts or trip lengths — these examples are never scaled

All amounts are USD as observed; no currency conversion, card fee or automatic buffer.

Practical notes

Waikiki hotels with Kapahulu plate-lunch and breakfast meals. Meal rows add Hawaii's 4.712% general excise tax as a conditional planning amount; collection by each operator was not observed. Transport is two 45 USD seven-day HOLO passes plus two 2 USD cards: 94 USD, valid 168 hours from activation; airport rides depend on ordinary baggage rules and both journeys fitting that window. ʻIolani Palace self-led audio is the ordinary 28 USD adult tariff (56 USD for two); dated inventory and checkout fees are unknown.

Limits of these examples

Totals are dated selected-component planning amounts, not guaranteed payable totals. Unknown fees are not counted as zero, no arbitrary buffer is added, and no hotel breakfast credit is deducted. Exact hotel stops, walks, wheelchair fit and foreign-card compatibility are not verified.

Cost sources (9)

Compiled and totalled by My Travel Choices (MTC) from the dated sources credited with each example. Research estimates, not bookable offers. How we build these examples · Cite this guide

Next steps